Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    126

    Default Ecogoo single to three phase inverter set up

    Hi All, A few weeks back I ordered the Ecogoo inverters for my two Hercus lathes, I wired one into the 260 first of all as that was the easier one to do, I wired in a contactor through the original start/stop switches to control the common wire coming out of the VFD running to the forward/reverse switch, I was going to wire the contactor through the same switch to turn off the contractor as I went from forward to reverse but decided to use it with out, I can go from forward to reverse without restarting it and the the VFD has been set to run times in the settings for ramp up and down and dwell time between forward and reverse. that works a treat, I like that it will allow you to go from one direction to the other with out having that feeling of the motor exploding. It took a little bit of working out how to set the parameters in the beginning but it was easy enough, the manual is very easy to read and well laid out.

    After setting up the first one with great success I wired up the Craftsman, this was all the same setup as far as wiring went, although as I already had the motor out I used shielded cable on this one, I got it up and running and was changing a few of the settings in it and it was working well, doing everything it should and then in its idle state, nothing running, it decided to spark and smoke out of the top of it, I am wondering if it has a faulty capacitor or there is dodgy soldering in there to cause that? I have messaged Ecogoo so I will wait for a response from them.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    N.W.Tasmania
    Posts
    1,238

    Default

    Hi Tinkerer, firstly I am not a sparkie, and I can't make out how you have wired your VFD, but just want to verify that you have wired the output of the VFD directly to your motor. That is without any controller switching between the VFD and your motor. Any controls, like stop, or forward and reverse should NOT be between the VFD and the motor, but those control switches should control the VFD, to either start, stop or reverse the motor, (amongst quite a few other possible demands) In general VFD's do not like unexpected interruptions on their output terminals. Of course all this may be no surprise to you and my apologies if this is the case, and it does sound that the smoke got out when there was no switching event occurring, but if you were unaware of these VFD requirements, it could explain the sudden demise of your unit. Hopefully you have not goofed up here and your supplier comes good with a replacement VFD, and no further issues.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Hi Ropetangler, the motor is wired straight to the VFD, I am using the original cam switch on both lathes to switch the common signal to X1 for forward and X2 for reverse, I have the contactor to close the circuit on the common wire so it's just the same as using the original start/stop control's. I had changed the parameters to use the external switchgear and I had changed the parameters for the ramp up and down time, that was when the unit decided to spark and hiss at me in the idle mode. All of the wires have terminals that fit the size of the screws in the clamping setup so there was no chance of them touching each other.

  4. #4
    BobL is offline Member: Blue and white apron brigade
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    6,111

    Default

    Does the VFD still light up?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobL View Post
    Does the VFD still light up?
    Hi Bob, it still lights up, it just sparks when I turn it on, the electrician at work said he will have a look at it for me, I'm just waiting to hear back from Ecogoo before I do anything else with it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Didn't accidently have some flying swarfe land into the cooling vents on top of the VFD ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by familyguy View Post
    Didn't accidently have some flying swarfe land into the cooling vents on top of the VFD ?
    I didn't even have the lathe bed on top of the cabinet, I think it was a bit of faulty workmanship on their behalf.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Ecogoo 1ph 220v to 3ph 400v inverter - experiences
    By OxxAndBert in forum ELECTRICALS
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2021, 02:39 PM
  2. Single Phase Variable Inverter?
    By wm460 in forum THE HERCUS AREA
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11th Nov 2018, 07:16 PM
  3. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2018, 07:35 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2018, 09:12 PM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 4th May 2012, 08:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •