Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Glen Forrest, Western Australia
    Age
    58
    Posts
    63

    Default

    This is a page from a Clipsal catalogue I found online. You might try your local electrical wholesaler to see if they are still available

    Rick




    Opera Snapshot_2020-07-28_111801_updates.clipsal.com.png

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    636

    Default

    Techo1, Bradford, Rick. Thank you. Techo1 - sorry for clicking on 'want's pictures' by accident. You can't undo that it seems.

    Techo1, it seems the switch you show in your pic is on the catalogue page pic from Rick. I reckon we're good then. Man, this place is a mine of info.

    I really appreciated the help guys.

    Greg.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Riddells Creek, Vic.
    Posts
    567

    Default

    My 8SN doesn't even have provision for a switch in the motor mounting casting. It must be a very early version because the switch mechanism is actually part of the motor.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Queensland
    Posts
    15

    Default jcatcmc

    Hi Stray Alien. You recon this would do the job? Strictly speaking should be double pole but will do the job.( only single pole 10 A). 50 mm fixing centers.

    regards, IMG_20200729_170625464_HDR.jpg

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    636

    Default

    Hey jcatcmc, that is a cool old thing. 👍 Thanks, techo1 has kindly offered to send over one of the ones he has so I reckon we're sweet.

    I did go into middy's today armed with the pic techo1 posted to see if they had it, nope. He recommended a dedicated switch supplier nearby. Nope. They recommended an industrial supply house for electrical. He said he'd never seen anything like it.

    Thanks again

    Greg.

    PS. Techo1, Thank you. And I think the 8sn is early sixties.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    3,920

    Default

    Hi Greg,

    I owe you an apology ! I've not found anything suitable in my stack of bits here at home, and I've not had chance to go up to the other workshop cum storeroom. Other things have got in the way this past couple of days.

    It might be a good idea to put a 0.001 uf capacitor across the switch contacts, it will reduce the tendency for them to arc and burn. Those switches are intended to only switch a resistive load like a light bulb. Also if you are bolting it to a metal panel use a piece of flat insulation board between it and the panel, then you cannot push the wires through the terminals and touch the metalwork.

    HTH.
    Best Regards:
    Baron J.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    636

    Default

    Thanks Baron, no sweat and no apols necessary. Techo1 has offered to send one of his off. Many thanks.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    636

    Default

    I do have a question though - and I am going to demonstrate my complete and utter lack of understanding of all things electrical - but why the double pole thing? Googling about it seems they are "two switches in one" but why would I want one of those on this motor? It is a single phase 10-amp motor. Apols if the answer is obvious - I have a hole in my brain where the bit that understand electricity goes ...

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    3,920

    Default

    Hi Greg,

    Quote Originally Posted by StrayAlien View Post
    I do have a question though - and I am going to demonstrate my complete and utter lack of understanding of all things electrical - but why the double pole thing? Googling about it seems they are "two switches in one" but why would I want one of those on this motor? It is a single phase 10-amp motor. Apols if the answer is obvious - I have a hole in my brain where the bit that understand electricity goes ...
    The reason that a double pole switch is normally/should be used, is because it simultaneously breaks both sides of the supply voltage to the motor, thus isolating it ! It is literally two isolated, separate switches in one casing both operated by a single lever. As long as you do not go sticking your fingers into the motor, using a single pole switch doesn't matter.

    Using a single pole switch is fine as long as you switch the live wire and not the neutral one.
    Best Regards:
    Baron J.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bendigo
    Age
    56
    Posts
    102

    Default

    as long as you switch the live wire and not the neutral one.
    And there lies the main reason for double pole switches. As a plug in piece of equipment if for some reason the plug or socket has been wired back to front a double pole switch will mean there is no chance of 240v with respect to earth being present when it is turned off.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    636

    Default

    Oh my god, I think I am in danger of actually understanding something about electricity! The double pole is not for two active wires, it is for the active and neutral wires to completely cut off power from the motor, and not have just (say) active cut off, but neutral still going to it.Cool. Thank guys. Hopefully I paraphrased correctly!

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Qld. Australia
    Posts
    860

    Default

    Sometimes leads are wired the wrong way around. Active where neutral should go and neutral where active should go. That's why caravans etc require double pole switches.
    Nev.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    3,920

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StrayAlien View Post
    Oh my god, I think I am in danger of actually understanding something about electricity! The double pole is not for two active wires, it is for the active and neutral wires to completely cut off power from the motor, and not have just (say) active cut off, but neutral still going to it.Cool. Thank guys. Hopefully I paraphrased correctly!
    Hi Greg, Spot on !
    Best Regards:
    Baron J.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Old School Sound Deadning
    By Goggomobile in forum AUTO RESTORATION
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th Oct 2016, 12:12 AM
  2. Switch Enclosure- Switch Position Identification.
    By Anorak Bob in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 19th Jul 2016, 11:00 AM
  3. Old school Tillco lathe
    By BobL in forum ANTIQUE AND VINTAGE MACHINERY
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2016, 11:42 PM
  4. New Jet Toys at school
    By Grahame Collins in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3rd Mar 2011, 10:13 PM
  5. New school,new toys
    By Grahame Collins in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th Aug 2009, 10:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •