Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

    Default Boolean troubles

    I'm making a 1"BSP to 5/8"BSP adapter for a little pump I bought.
    Made a cylinder, hollowed in out. helix, sketch, sweep. All looks good.
    When I boolean just the external thread it looks fine in CAD and the slicer and slices fine.
    When I boolean the internal thread it looks fine in CAD, it looks fine in the slicer, but when sliced it fills in hole.
    Any ideas?
    I've worked around this exporting the same three parts individually and letting the slicer boolean(?) them.

    Can't upload .STL here

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    1,293

    Default

    Try uploading it to https://filebin.net/ and paste the link here.

    What slicer are you using?

    Once you upload the file I can test it at my end on my slicer setup.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

    Default

    Hope I have done that right.

    https://filebin.net/avglqj9w2a4iq7xf

    Simplify and Cura. Strangely on cura when I looked at layer view it looks right for about 3 seconds then "fills in the hole". I should have taken a screen shot, will do that.

    I did try a STL repair but while that removed plenty of Vertex and triangles it didn't help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

    Default

    What Cura does.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    1,293

    Default

    I tried it on PrusaSlicer and its the same issue and gives an error saying there are no extrusions in the first layer and the repair junks the part:

    Capture.JPG

    I even sliced the base to the point where the part lays flat on the build plate but no cigar.

    What CAD program did you use to design this?

    Can you share the .stl files for the individual boolean parts so I can try and do a boolean on them using FreeCAD?

    Did you try looking for the part on McMaster-Carr as they provide CAD files for most of their parts example below:


    Capture2.jpg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

    Default

    I use freecad so I can give you the FCSTD file up to the point things go wrong if thats easier?
    Give me a minute they are on another pc and it takes me a second.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Toorloo Arm, VIC
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,307

    Default

    If you want 1" to 5/8" I think you've got the dimensions wrong for the 5/8" part...

    But since it's about a 30 sec job to do this in Fusion360, I knocked one up. 14mm long was what you wanted?

    https://filebin.net/m52i8cyihfs5305r

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

    Default

    Just had a quick look on McMaster-Carr, I will have to remember that thanks. But I cant see what I'm after.

    5/8 seems to be pretty unusual. There are fittings for about $12 + postage. Would be cheaper to buy the same pump with 1/2" in/outlet.
    Its only a tiny pump that I just bought because it might just come in handy, I didn't give it any thought when I selected 5/8" so now I am practicing making threads, which I have managed to do once before, this time I must be doing something stupid

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

    Default

    Whats wrong with the 5/8? it seems to fit ok, the 1" is a little lose but is more than strong enough given the application.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

    Default

    Damn you did proper threads, I'm not that advanced yet! lol

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    1,293

    Default

    I fixed the issue using FreeCAD by re-importing your stl files, converted them back to solids and used the union of the selected shaped option instead of boolean:

    Capture.jpg

    Attached is the .stl file in filebin: https://filebin.net/7gkavy6ctwpo0zok

    In PrusaSlicer they still give an error but slice fine:

    Capture2.jpg

    I even tried paint on support and with support enforces enabled I can get a reasonable print slice :

    Capture3.jpg

    Capture4.jpg

    I do not like Fusion360 but it does do some good stuff especially the threading part

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Toorloo Arm, VIC
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,307

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stustoys View Post
    Damn you did proper threads, I'm not that advanced yet! lol
    As I said, 30 sec job in Fusion360. Make a hollow cylinder with the correct nominal dimensions, click 'add thread', click 'fully modelled', and choose the thread. Lol. Although Fusions threads aren't always correct...

    Tried Freecad once. Spent three hours trying to do something that's a 5 minute job in Fusion. Gave up. I'll worry about it if Fusion ever locks me right out.

    I assume the 5/8 question was to me as well - your preview in the slicer made it look like the 5/8 part was way too big, but opening the actual stl again and having a look, it's only marginally oversize.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    9,088

    Default

    Thank you both

    kafie1980,

    I thought I tried union, but then I tried a lot of things lol I will have another go tomorrow.

    The slicer error you got wouldn't be because of my bad "sweeps" would it? (half a thread is below the bottom face, there is a box somewhere I am not ticking, but with simplify you can just lower the part "through the bed" as it were until the face you want is on the bed.

    Jekyll, Yours is about halfway printed(as I type so slow it might beat me lol).
    Fusion360 sure sounds easier, though I'm sure part of it is I am learning as I go. I assume you can have a library of sketches that would make things go faster, but I've not got that far.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    1,293

    Default

    I regret even taking the time to learn Fusion360 and then being constantly asked to renew my subscription. This is when I just launched Fusion360 again (its annoying):

    Capture6.JPG

    I have been using FreeCAD for 10 years now and not just for CAD/Design work but also CAM work (aka Path in FreeCAD). It is hard at times but we are not making parts for space ships.

    Let us par this right here as its just my personally views on the topic.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. chuck troubles
    By welder in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 66
    Last Post: 21st Jul 2012, 10:05 PM
  2. Mill- drill troubles.
    By britannia in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2012, 07:35 PM
  3. Turret Troubles
    By Anorak Bob in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2011, 08:46 PM
  4. Gearbox troubles
    By bitza500 in forum THE HERCUS AREA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Jan 2009, 04:51 AM
  5. Makita Cut Off Saw Troubles
    By under thumb in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 29th Jun 2007, 05:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •