Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7

    Default Sheraton Cub lathe

    Hey all.
    Hope all is well, and happy New year for the upcoming hours.
    I've recently purchased a Sheraton cub lathe running a 2hp 3 phase motor. Was from a school, never cleaned but hardly used aswell. After spending some time cleaning it I connected it up with a 20 amp plug. Installation was simple as the cable was chopped so I just copied how it was.
    Went to turn it on and nothing, switched phases around and nothing changed. Thinking some wiring came loose through shifting it around so opened up the electrical box and tightened all the connections. Still nothing so I pressed power to the over load switch?? I've circled it in the photos and she jumped to life, running normal in forward and reverse. I was pleased to know nothing was wrong with the mechanical side. But wouldn't turn on by the handle only when pressing the button. Pulled out the multimeter and I'm getting power to all 3 phases a even 494 volts.
    There's a limit switch that turns on when the handle is engaged, I thought maybe it was that so I tested it for power and function and getting 30 volts to the line and working as it should.

    I've tested everything and it all seems to be getting power, even the emergency button works.

    I'm stumped on what to do and as everyone is on holidays I can't get a electrician out till mid January. Plus I kinda want to repair this one on my own.

    Anyone have any input?
    Is there anything mechanical that can stop it from turning on?
    Any information or ideas will be a great help.

    Thanks all

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Rockhampton, QLD
    Age
    66
    Posts
    411

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thank you sir, hope your enjoying your day

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    elanjacobs is online now Apprentice gear maker and machine doctor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    31
    Posts
    889

    Default

    Just throwing ideas out...I see there's an interlock switch for the chuck guard, is there also one for the gear train cover that won't let it run when it's not fixed in place?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hello elanjacobs, hope you had a lovely night. There's a limit switch on the chuck guard but none on the gear train. Only another limit switch on the on and off handle to get it started.
    There is a wire coming out for a foot controlled emergency button. I've just put it aside for now until i get one in.
    Would a open circuit not make it start?
    Even if I joined them wires together I get a no start issue.
    Do you know if there's a mechanical reason why it won't start?
    Being the era it is I don't think it would have a electrical cut off switch of any sort.
    Any input is appreciated alot.



    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Riddells Creek, Vic.
    Posts
    682

    Default

    When I read this thread yesterday I was surprised to see that an Australian made Sheraton Lathe had ended up in Michigan in the USA but then today I saw this posted on P/M with the location being Australia????

  7. #7
    elanjacobs is online now Apprentice gear maker and machine doctor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    31
    Posts
    889

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TigandI View Post
    Being the era it is I don't think it would have a electrical cut off switch of any sort.
    The Mk 1 Colchester Bantam (late '60s) at work has a cutoff switch on the gear cover from the factory and being from a school I'd expect there to be one as a legal requirement.

    What's this bit?

    736524bfae7021f94be09a0049d5cb75.jpg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elanjacobs View Post
    The Mk 1 Colchester Bantam (late '60s) at work has a cutoff switch on the gear cover from the factory and being from a school I'd expect there to be one as a legal requirement.

    What's this bit?

    736524bfae7021f94be09a0049d5cb75.jpg
    That's a limit switch, so that handle on the top turns the machine on and off, when in the on position it pushes down the limit switch which gives it power. It's getting 30 volts, and functioning as it should ( when not engaged no power and when engaged it's getting voltage) it's suppose to be behind the lever but I took it off to clean and test. It defiantly sounds like there's something cutting the power but I can't seem to work it out. Now I've circled where there a postive and negative cable coming off the emergency switch, this was for a foot pedal but was disconnected before I recieved it. That's the other safety feature it had.

    I'm keen to start turning some things as this lathe looks sensational to use

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Techo1 View Post
    When I read this thread yesterday I was surprised to see that an Australian made Sheraton Lathe had ended up in Michigan in the USA but then today I saw this posted on P/M with the location being Australia????
    New to all this techno and didn't know what I was doing at the time but yes sir I'm.in Australia Melbourne where it was born

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Riddells Creek, Vic.
    Posts
    682

    Default

    Because the stop buttons are "normally closed" and wired in series any one that is "open" will stop the machine from working. You said that there are 2 wires from an "e stop" that has been taken off, if you connect those two wires together it may work.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Techo1 View Post
    Because the stop buttons are "normally closed" and wired in series any one that is "open" will stop the machine from working. You said that there are 2 wires from an "e stop" that has been taken off, if you connect those two wires together it may work.
    Yep there's 2 wires,
    thanks for the input I will give it a shot today and report back, fingers crossed it was as simple as that. I've got a e stop coming in the mail so when it comes ill run it.

    Any other things to check any inputs are welcomed

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Riddells Creek, Vic.
    Posts
    682

    Default

    I have had this drawing for probably 20 years and never had a reason to look at it until now, it may help you in the future.

    Seraton Cub.jpg

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Location
    Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    1

    Default ABSculpture

    Where did you purchase Sheraton Cub from i think i my have its brother
    Quote Originally Posted by TigandI View Post
    Hey all.
    Hope all is well, and happy New year for the upcoming hours.
    I've recently purchased a Sheraton cub lathe running a 2hp 3 phase motor. Was from a school, never cleaned but hardly used aswell. After spending some time cleaning it I connected it up with a 20 amp plug. Installation was simple as the cable was chopped so I just copied how it was.
    Went to turn it on and nothing, switched phases around and nothing changed. Thinking some wiring came loose through shifting it around so opened up the electrical box and tightened all the connections. Still nothing so I pressed power to the over load switch?? I've circled it in the photos and she jumped to life, running normal in forward and reverse. I was pleased to know nothing was wrong with the mechanical side. But wouldn't turn on by the handle only when pressing the button. Pulled out the multimeter and I'm getting power to all 3 phases a even 494 volts.
    There's a limit switch that turns on when the handle is engaged, I thought maybe it was that so I tested it for power and function and getting 30 volts to the line and working as it should.

    I've tested everything and it all seems to be getting power, even the emergency button works.

    I'm stumped on what to do and as everyone is on holidays I can't get a electrician out till mid January. Plus I kinda want to repair this one on my own.

    Anyone have any input?
    Is there anything mechanical that can stop it from turning on?
    Any information or ideas will be a great help.

    Thanks all

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Revesby - Sydney Australia
    Age
    54
    Posts
    468

    Default

    Looks like a good, solid, lathe !

Similar Threads

  1. Sheraton Lathe
    By hpa1 in forum EBAY, GUMTREE, and other off forum sales sites
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Aug 2019, 10:04 PM
  2. Sheraton ARM lathe
    By camoz in forum THE HERCUS AREA
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10th May 2014, 08:49 PM
  3. DONE: Sheraton lathe
    By warnie100 in forum METALWORK - Machinery, Equipment, MARKET
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2012, 05:08 PM
  4. New (Old) Sheraton CUB Lathe
    By Nozzle in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 24th Aug 2012, 01:24 PM
  5. Sheraton Lathe
    By electrosteam in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Jul 2009, 11:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •