Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Cairns, Qld.
    Posts
    23

    Default Sheraton C model

    Could any other owners of the above type of lathe please confirm the standard elec. motor size, i.e. HP/Kw?
    Thanks...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    4,059

    Default

    Hi Halifax614,

    I would have thought that anything between 1/2 and 1 Hp would be fine. My Myford, similar in size is 1/2 Hp 1440 RPM motor.
    Best Regards:
    Baron J.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Cairns, Qld.
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Sheraton motor size

    Hi BaronJ. Thank you for that info.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Cairns, Qld.
    Posts
    23

    Default Drive motor size - Sheraton

    The data plate is partly illegible on the drive motor on the Sheraton, but it appears to indicate 1 HP at least; plus it's quite a sizeable old Aust. built unit. 1960's or 70's I think. It did run but sounded very grumbly, bearings obviously rough, so I stripped & checked it. Stator insulation resistance very good. Windings test & look good - no cooking evident. Start cap open circuit - should be 240 microfarads. Bearings pooped. Generally full of mud dauber wasp crap as usual. Rebuilt it today with new 6203 bearings & a new cap & a good clean out. Runs smoothly, Draws over 12 amps at start & runs at 4.5 amps according to the clamp meter, which says to me that it's gotta be about 1.5 HP in old money. From what Baron J says that's about 2 to 3 times as powerful as it needs to be! No wonder the mounting plate arrangements look somewhat altered, & not for the better.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    4,059

    Default

    Hi Halifax614,

    Yes I agree I get just short of 1.5 Hp based on 230 V and 4.5 Amps. Certainly you will have plenty of grunt with it. Until you get used to the lathe I would run it with a slack belt so that it will slip if you do something that might cause damage.

    I slack the belt off on mine when I'm tapping using back gear under power, gives you a chance to back the tap out before you break it. I just use enough belt tension to drive the chuck. Works well for 4 BA into steel, though I much prefer to do bigger threaded holes under power.
    Best Regards:
    Baron J.

Similar Threads

  1. Sheraton C model
    By Halifax614 in forum SHERATON AREA
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2020, 08:00 PM
  2. Sheraton Model A Conquest
    By Vicval01 in forum SHERATON AREA
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th May 2020, 01:23 PM
  3. c model sheraton pics
    By warnie100 in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2012, 11:16 PM
  4. run out on Sheraton model A
    By morrisman in forum THE HERCUS AREA
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 21st May 2011, 01:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •