Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Tacoma WA
    Posts
    1

    Default MC-60 treadmill speed controller (controller needs a load ?)

    Any help will be greatly appreciated. I have an MC-60 treadmill speed controller. I'm mounting the motor on a drill press. I put switch on the wipe terminal on the pot and added a reverse switch on the motor leads. I have it geared way down so that I can do some thread tapping. I'd like to have it start and stop immediately. I'm trying to eliminate the soft start and stop. Putting a switch from the board (red wire to the motor) gives me what I'm looking for but I am concerned about whether the board needs the load from the motor. Is it safe for the speed controller to run with a switch on the motor lead?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Southern Highlands NSW
    Posts
    1,445

    Default

    I'm no expert, but as you asked for "any help", is it possible to use a simpler controller? Such as:
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/60A-PWM-...sAAOSwbIZdZ5n8

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    280

    Default

    I'm not exactly sure what you mean by a switch in line with the wiper.
    But how about a switch from the wiper to the 'low' side of the pot - that would have the effect of turning the speed down to 0 instantly, without switching high currents.

    Ps, what sort of treadmill motor runs on 50 volts - I've only seen 90 or 180, but I guess if you only want relatively low output that wouldn't matter.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mackay North Qld
    Posts
    5,014

    Default

    Hi DenJon,
    Its good to see another American coming to our MetalWork Forums.

    Welcome to one of the better MetalWork Forums. We are Australian based so you might notice on a US Forum references,and retailers and even our standards are sometimes different.I have shifted your post to the Electrical section where it can be answered more appropriately.

    Please take a look at the rest of the forum by going to the top LH corner where the FORUM box (with down arrow) is.

    Click the box and select Forum Home the first title listed on the pull downs. That will take you to the page where you can scroll down to see what we have as associated forums and notices.

    In that list you might notice the Welcome Wagon.

    Please consider posting an intro the Welcome wagon that can tells us what you Metalworking interests are.

    Again

    Welcome to to our forums, albeit a few days late.

    Grahame

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,238

    Default

    Have a look at this youtube video:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HFlliimAvZY

    This guy is doing the exact same thing as you, using the same MC60 controller.

    In the comments others have mentioned removal of R19 or removel of transistor Q7 to disable the soft start.

    Simon
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    2,947

    Default

    Hi Russ,

    Quote Originally Posted by russ57 View Post
    I'm not exactly sure what you mean by a switch in line with the wiper.
    But how about a switch from the wiper to the 'low' side of the pot - that would have the effect of turning the speed down to 0 instantly, without switching high currents.

    Ps, what sort of treadmill motor runs on 50 volts - I've only seen 90 or 180, but I guess if you only want relatively low output that wouldn't matter.
    Those permag DC motors will happily run on as little as 12 volts ! I've just acquired an unwanted treadmill just to salvage the motor and controller. Not an MC60 though, 240 volts AC input 80 volts average DC out. Its actually a chopped 280 volts. The rating plate on the motor gives 600 watts 220 volts DC. No indication of rpm though.

    To the OP, no I wouldn't switch in the motor leads ! Apart from the risk of damaging the controller, the spike will eventually demagnetise the magnets as will running the motor from AC.
    Best Regards:
    Baron J.

Similar Threads

  1. Motor Speed Controller
    By barkersegg in forum ELECTRICALS
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 23rd Aug 2018, 08:49 AM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 1st Jan 2018, 11:10 PM
  3. Variable speed motor and controller
    By Jim Ferrous in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2013, 03:03 PM
  4. cheap foot TIG controller
    By WelderMick in forum WELDING
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th Jan 2011, 01:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •