Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 60
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlestown NSW
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stustoys View Post
    Have you looked on the board for a jumper?(or a place for one). While I cant find it in the manual either, as Bob said and you know the Huanyang needs something to switch between internal pot and external pot. While the picture of your VSD doesnt show the pot markings the drawing of the label does, so I'm guessing internal pot is an option.

    Nothing visible with the terminal cover removed.
    peter

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlestown NSW
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bollie7 View Post
    I don't think I've tried that combination yet so will give it a whirl. The worst I can do is let the smoke out.

    Edit. Looking at the list of configurable parameters again, you might be onto something. My panel doesn't have a pot so changes in frequency are done using the buttons. Pn03 "Source of runtime frequency" lists no 1 being for a pot. I've been assuming that its for an external pot. Maybe it actually means an internal pot (if fitted). So tonight I'll try setting it to 3 "External 0-5V signal"

    thanks
    peter

    BIngo - sort of. Tried it set to External 0-5V signal and away it went. However when the pot is turned back towards minimum the vfd stops before the pot has reached its full travel.
    I measure it and the readings across terminal 1 and 2 (wiper) are 0.674 Ohm and across terminals 2 and 3 4.66K.
    So maybe what it says on the diagram for the pot 1-5k means exactly that. A pot with a range from 1k to 5 K.
    Ive just been researching potentiometers but as yet I haven't found any reference to one with a set range apart from zero to what ever the other value is.
    Is such an animal available?
    If not I'll have to make a mechanical stop of this one.
    At least progress is happening.
    Thanks BaronJ for the suggestion.
    Peter

  3. #18
    BobL is online now Member: Blue and white apron brigade
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    5,250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bollie7 View Post
    BIngo - sort of. Tried it set to External 0-5V signal and away it went. However when the pot is turned back towards minimum the vfd stops before the pot has reached its full travel.
    I measure it and the readings across terminal 1 and 2 (wiper) are 0.674 Ohm and across terminals 2 and 3 4.66K.
    So maybe what it says on the diagram for the pot 1-5k means exactly that. A pot with a range from 1k to 5 K.
    Ive just been researching potentiometers but as yet I haven't found any reference to one with a set range apart from zero to what ever the other value is.
    Is such an animal available?
    What about putting a 1KΩ resistor in series with the low end of the pot.
    That will make it 6kΩ at the top end but I doubt that will do anything as it will still have the 5V at the top of the pot.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlestown NSW
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobL View Post
    What about putting a 1KΩ resistor in series with the low end of the pot.
    That will make it 6kΩ at the top end but I doubt that will do anything as it will still have the 5V at the top of the pot.
    Bob.
    Now you are talking black magic to me. I'm not an electronics person. I know enough to know that I know bugger all.
    So. Please bear with me. I'll try what you have suggested.
    Thanks
    Peter

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    8,309

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bollie7 View Post
    BIngo - sort of. Tried it set to External 0-5V signal and away it went. However when the pot is turned back towards minimum the vfd stops before the pot has reached its full travel.
    I see you've got it sorted. I finally twinged, Pn3=1 must be for in internal pot if fitted!(there's your jumper )


    RE your pot. It isnt a logarithmic pot is it?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlestown NSW
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stustoys View Post
    I see you've got it sorted. I finally twinged, Pn3=1 must be for in internal pot if fitted!(there's your jumper )
    I wont be posting a pic of my cobbled together assortment of wires, micro switches and relays though. lol. Hopefully next weekend I will be able to make a start on the new control box. I've got most of the bits.


    Quote Originally Posted by Stustoys View Post
    RE your pot. It isnt a logarithmic pot is it?
    No its linear.
    peter

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    Hi Peter, Guys,

    Glad you now have it working

    As Bob says, just stick a 1k resistor in the bottom end to raise it above zero, though I would have thought that reducing the speed to a full stop might be desired. Don't forget to put an insulating sleeve over the resistor, you don't want it shorting to anything.
    Best Regards:
    Baron J.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlestown NSW
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BaronJ View Post
    Hi Peter, Guys,

    Glad you now have it working

    As Bob says, just stick a 1k resistor in the bottom end to raise it above zero, though I would have thought that reducing the speed to a full stop might be desired. Don't forget to put an insulating sleeve over the resistor, you don't want it shorting to anything.
    Will do.
    I will have all the controls in a box mounted to the headstock of the lathe.
    Id prefer to have the pot not stopping the motor for two reasons. 1) the safety side of it. I can see a time when the pot has been used to stop the motor but the stop switch hasn't been pushed in (then forgotten about) and then the pot turned by accident (or design) and the motor starting again unexpectedly. 2) I want to keep the controls the same as what I already have on my mill.

    Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.
    peter

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlestown NSW
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    Now I have proper lift off. The 1K resistor has done the trick.
    Speed control is now good. Atm I've got the lowest frequency set to about 20Hz and the motor will run right down to that and still keep turning. No idea how that would be with a load on it but I don't intend to leave it set that low.
    BobL and BaronJ. Thanks for accurate advise on this. Most appreciated.
    Thanks to everyone else who also contributed their thoughts.

    Hopefully this weekend I'll be able to make a start setting up the control box.

    peter

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,205

    Default

    Hi Peter,

    I'm late into this thread but read most of the posts to get to speed. I recently used one of these VFD's for my mill. It seemed I was unsuccessful at running the VFD with an external POT so I used the multisegment frequency selection.

    When I tried to use the POT, I too saw what seemed to be a "random" frequency displayed on the screen. I was very odd. Fortunately for me I didn't really need the infinately variable speed and so discrete frequency selection was quite satisfactory.

    I concur with you in that the manual is a little misleading.

    Good luck with the POT!

    I am undecided as to whether the cheaper cost of these VFD's (over a genuine HY) is worth the pain.

    Simon
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlestown NSW
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    Hi Peter,

    I'm late into this thread but read most of the posts to get to speed. I recently used one of these VFD's for my mill. It seemed I was unsuccessful at running the VFD with an external POT so I used the multisegment frequency selection.
    At first I couldn't get the pot or multi segment working.

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    When I tried to use the POT, I too saw what seemed to be a "random" frequency displayed on the screen. I was very odd. Fortunately for me I didn't really need the infinately variable speed and so discrete frequency selection was quite satisfactory.
    With help from BobL and BaronJ I finally figured out I was interpreting the book wrong. Once I set Pn03 to 3 "External 0-5V signal" the pot started working. It would shut the VFD off when wound back to miniuim though. Again with help from BobL and BaronJ I put a 1K resistor in series with the "ground" wire and it now runs as I wanted it.
    Have you checked that setting on yours?

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    Good luck with the POT!
    See above

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    I am undecided as to whether the cheaper cost of these VFD's (over a genuine HY) is worth the pain.

    Simon
    Hearing you. If I had known before I bought it that it was not a HuanYang, I probably wouldn't have bought it. Live and learn.
    I have a HuanYang on my mill with a remote pot which gives infinitely variably speed and I love it.

    Peter

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,205

    Default

    Sorry, thought I was all over the conversation!

    Nth I lost count o f all the different combinations of parameter settings and wiring combinations so there's every chance I may not have tried what you ended up doing. I definitely didn't try a 1k resistor inline with the ground! Who would have thought of that!!!

    Now that it's set up it works fine and it's as good as any other of my HY VFDs. But getting there was a PITA.

    Mind you, you still got a bargain!

    Simon

    Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlestown NSW
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,222

    Default

    I've got the external control box wired, mounted and running. Just have to work out where I am going to mount the magnet and sensor for the Tacho now.
    Still have to fine tune some of the settings but pretty happy with the install. Well worth the time and effort.


    https://youtu.be/wSCWiecji0U

    Peter

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    2,862

    Default

    Hi Peter,

    Looking good !

    I would not use silicon round that post ! I would use some felt or knitting wool pressed into the gap, then it can easily be removed if needed rather than trying to scrape away silicon filler full of chips.

    Though about the only chips I can imagine getting up there, would be Brass. They seem to find their way into the most non intuitive places ! Having had to fight the zip on my jeans the other day
    Best Regards:
    Baron J.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,205

    Default

    That's nice. I do like the sound of that too. I would be interested in your feedback as to whether you get a better finish with a 3 ph motor. I have read that you can improve the finish purely by changing from a 1ph to a 3ph motor because they are smoother in running. Not sure how true that is but I would be keen to see what you think.

    I have a 3ph motor waiting for my lathe. I may even buy another one of those isacon VFD's since I know how they tick now.

    Simon
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for tool advise
    By Lagair in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2018, 09:23 PM
  2. Advise On Trailers
    By Christos in forum TRAILERS & OTHER FABRICATED STUFF
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2018, 09:49 AM
  3. Very first TIG welds. please advise
    By Zumanity in forum WELDING
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th May 2014, 03:28 PM
  4. advise need please
    By boyblueeye in forum WELDING
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th May 2012, 12:22 AM
  5. Powdercoating advise
    By Geoff Dean in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2006, 11:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •