Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46
  1. #1
    BobL is online now Member: Blue and white apron brigade
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,989

    Default New VFD announced by Powtran

    Powtran sent me through this brochure of their 2019 range that includes an announcement of their new PI150 "Smart" VFD.
    Also they have are offering a cut down "basic" PI500A model inverter
    I have requested more details but nothing has come through probably because they are all still on Chinese new year holidays.
    Please note I receive nothing from Powtran for doing this - I'm just a DIY fan of their products.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    nowra
    Posts
    1,560

    Default

    Have you heard back about the new smart inverter. I would be interested in one for my lathe perhaps I should email powertrans.
    BETTER TO HAVE TOOLS YOU DON'T NEED THAN TO NEED TOOLS YOU DON'T HAVE

    Andre

  3. #3
    BobL is online now Member: Blue and white apron brigade
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by welder View Post
    Have you heard back about the new smart inverter. I would be interested in one for my lathe perhaps I should email powertrans.
    the PI150 will be ready for the market in April May.

    You are likely to need a smart inverter for a lathe - these days even a basic VFD has way more smarts than is needed for a basic lathe setup. The smarts in the smart inverter are mostly related to CNC use.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    nowra
    Posts
    1,560

    Default

    I am more interested in the 240 volt input 380 v output feature.
    BETTER TO HAVE TOOLS YOU DON'T NEED THAN TO NEED TOOLS YOU DON'T HAVE

    Andre

  5. #5
    BobL is online now Member: Blue and white apron brigade
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by welder View Post
    I am more interested in the 240 volt input 380 v output feature.
    Is this your interpretation of what is on the brochure or do you have other information?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Slightly left of Vernon, BC Canada
    Posts
    67

    Default Help deciphering differences in models

    Hi Bob,

    Thank you for your work in bringing us this info. I have been in touch with Nicole for the last few days obtaining pricing for the various models, quite reasonable. However, in looking at the website, they all seem to have the same functions, at least without comparing line for line in the somewhat poorly laid out web page format.

    The ones I am considering are PI130, 150, 160, 500 and 9130. Have you been able to determine the major differences between them? I am sure they would all work just fine. My lathes are 260's, with 550W 3ph 220VAC motors.

    Thanks for your help!

    Cheers

  7. #7
    BobL is online now Member: Blue and white apron brigade
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kilohertz View Post
    Hi Bob,
    The ones I am considering are PI130, 150, 160, 500 and 9130. Have you been able to determine the major differences between them? I am sure they would all work just fine. My lathes are 260's, with 550W 3ph 220VAC motors.
    I have not yet seen a manual for the 150, or the 240V 500's as I have only seen the manual for the 3P I/O 500 models.

    The low power 130s and 160's model range are physically smaller so have small terminals ie fiddlier to wire up.
    For the 240V input models the power is limited to 1.5 kW for the 130, and 2.2kW for the 160, unknown for the 500 and 150, I think its 5.5kW for the 9130.
    The 130 has a 400Hz max frequency, and a reduced instruction set.
    The 160 and 500 (3 phase only) has a 300/3200 Hz frequency depending on whether it's been driven by V/F or Vector control and a much larger instruction set.

    The input and output wiring for the 160 and 130 are such that I reckon it legally needs to be installed inside some sort of an enclosure.
    eg that's a 160 (L) and 130 (R) - note how mains wiring does not enter VFD with the outer insulation intact.
    TwinVFDs.jpg

    The 500 (3P only) 9130's are physically bigger, have more robust terminals and dual line screens which makes programming easier.
    The terminals and wiring are fully enclosed in both the 500 and 9130 so can be used without an enclosure.

    For small motors they indeed provide more or less the same function

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    2,307

    Default

    I was hoping the "smart" part of the new VFDs was a better user interface. The hardest part about installing a VFD isn't the wiring, it's the tedious process of setting the parameters guided by a poorly worded manual.
    Chris

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Slightly left of Vernon, BC Canada
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Thank you Bob for the detailed reply, much appreciated.

    I am considering either the 1.5KW or the 2.2KW, not too concerned about the line voltage, 220 vs 240. Ours is usually around 230 +/- 5 or so. My motors are rated 220. I'm guessing that the output voltage can be set to a chosen value? As long as the input is within spec? I'll have to peruse the manuals I found. So if line V is 230, I could set output V to 3ph 220?? I'm also a big knob person, don't like up/down key presses to change speed so that may help me decide.

    I built an RPC for my big Cincinnati Hydrashift as it has a 3 ph coolant pump and contactors and things which the VFD would barf up on, but I want to use VFDs on my little 260s, just seems to be a perfect fit.

    I'll go over all the info again in the next few days....busy at work now, not much time for play, and I don't want to bother Nicole with questions when I am only considering 2 VFDs. If it was a container load I might be more inclined to ask.

    Thanks again!

    Cheers

  10. #10
    BobL is online now Member: Blue and white apron brigade
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kilohertz View Post
    I am considering either the 1.5KW or the 2.2KW, not too concerned about the line voltage, 220 vs 240. Ours is usually around 230 +/- 5 or so. My motors are rated 220. I'm guessing that the output voltage can be set to a chosen value? As long as the input is within spec? I'll have to peruse the manuals I found. So if line V is 230, I could set output V to 3ph 220??
    On most of my VFDs I never bothered to adjust the parameter settings for the voltages, They seem to just output the same or close to the same V as the input.

    I'm also a big knob person, don't like up/down key presses to change speed so that may help me decide.
    I usually add my own remote speed knob especially where I change speeds often.
    I didn't do this on my MW lathe and the pot started playing up and eventually I worked out it was dirt transferred from my hands - have since added a remote pot.

    I built an RPC for my big Cincinnati Hydrashift as it has a 3 ph coolant pump and contactors and things which the VFD would barf up on, but I want to use VFDs on my little 260s, just seems to be a perfect fit.
    I fitted two VFDs to my Mill (a 1HP 160 for the spindle and a 1/2HP 130 for the coolant pump) but I rarely use the coolant pump since I fitted a misting system,

    I'll go over all the info again in the next few days....busy at work now, not much time for play, and I don't want to bother Nicole with questions when I am only considering 2 VFDs. If it was a container load I might be more inclined to ask.
    Don't be too concerned - Nicole is more than willing to help with questions.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    252

    Default

    The 160 control panel is *tiny*.
    Definitely needs a remote panel for me to have any chance of using it comfortably.



    Russ

  12. #12
    BobL is online now Member: Blue and white apron brigade
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by russ57 View Post
    The 160 control panel is *tiny*.
    Definitely needs a remote panel for me to have any chance of using it comfortably.
    The 130 and 160 use the same panel and yes it is small - the 9130 dual display and rotary know that scrolls through the parameters is much nicer to use.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    167

    Default

    I just had a quick look at the P19000 series manual and the input voltages are 220V 10% so I'd imagine they are true for all their VFD's.

    There is a Youtube video series I saw on another forum on converting a metal lathe to VFD. I haven't watched the series so can't vouch for all of it but it may be useful.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=apQK...bxwcduFee5Ub5z

    He is also working on an electronic lead screw and if those are of interest he is almost completed that series.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTs9...-ge5nVVdS3WVgg

    I'll add that I'm not much of a Youtube fan but these seem okay. Please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

    Pete

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    252

    Default

    I do like his lead screw project, he's clearly learning but explains why he is doing it as he is so the viewer can judge.


    Russ

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Slightly left of Vernon, BC Canada
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Originally Posted by welder
    I am more interested in the 240 volt input 380 v output feature.


    Quote Originally Posted by BobL View Post
    Is this your interpretation of what is on the brochure or do you have other information?
    I just found the PI-500 catalog and it lists input as 220-240Vac +10/-15%.

    Working my way thru all the models, I am down to 9130, 500 or the new 150 if I can confirm it is available for 220 volt use, currently the only documentation shows 380Vac.

    FYI

    Cheers

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fitting remote stop switches to PowTran PI-160
    By peterbilt in forum ELECTRICALS
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2018, 09:19 PM
  2. Powtran VFDs
    By BobL in forum ELECTRICALS
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2018, 11:14 AM
  3. Powtran VFD
    By thorens in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2015, 10:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •