Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 44 of 44
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    2,788

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by droog View Post
    Check the manual it indicates 3 phase so will have 2 outlets on each phase.
    I did. That manual covers three different generators. The one gazza linked to is the single phase version. The absence of a 3 phase socket is also a giveaway.
    Chris

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    South of Adelaide
    Posts
    864

    Default

    make sure your generator is suitable to run a welder off. some of the small ones aren't. we fried a ESAB rebel at work with the wrong generator.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,375

    Default

    Looking at these two generators below, i just hope one idles down when not loaded up defenitly can't afford a old school generator that just revs off its head from the time u start it to shutting it off

    https://www.ablesales.com.au/diesel-...SABEgLNefD_BwE

    If i cant run one of these big box style generators here

    https://www.edisons.com.au/power/generators/

    2 of these will be my last resort wired in parallel

    https://www.edisons.com.au/genpower-...ping-building/
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    812

    Default

    Running those generators every time you want to play welder is not going to win you any points with your neighbours.. 59db at 7m is far from a silent or quiet generator.

    Get a sparky to put a 15A outlet on the side of the meter box and run a 15A lead if you’re concerned about overloading the 10A circuit you are using with an adapter lead.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,375

    Default

    Racing the sparky wants $1000 to install a 15A outlet, when i had Jims Electrician install a 15A outlet 12 meters from the box in 2013 it cost $340

    For $1000 i would rather buy the generator as i can sell it later and get some money back

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Age
    66
    Posts
    1,247

    Default

    $1,000? - Tell the sparky you only want a 15A GPO, not a share of the power station!

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,375

    Default

    I will call another sparky guys, my house has gas hot water and 2x 20amp lines but my laundry where i run my welders from only has a 10amp twin heavy duty outlet i'm renting and dont want to cause any problems, i will see if a good legit sparky will safely recommend just chaning the outlet to 15amps i just cant afford a 15 to be slapped in wrecklessly

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gazza2009au View Post
    I will call another sparky guys, my house has gas hot water and 2x 20amp lines but my laundry where i run my welders from only has a 10amp twin heavy duty outlet i'm renting and dont want to cause any problems, i will see if a good legit sparky will safely recommend just chaning the outlet to 15amps i just cant afford a 15 to be slapped in wrecklessly

    If the existing 10amp socket is on a circuit with multiple 10amp sockets that won't be possible. From memory a 15amp socket needs to be on a dedicated 15amp circuit, cannot be mixed whether the existing cabling is adequate or not.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    2,788

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craka View Post
    From memory a 15amp socket needs to be on a dedicated 15amp circuit, cannot be mixed whether the existing cabling is adequate or not.
    I thought the same, but the attached table from the wiring rules indicates that you could have 1 x 15A socket-outlet plus 8 x 10A socket outlets on one circuit with 2.5mm cable and a 20A breaker. The 15A outlet contributes 12A to the total load and each 10A GPO contributes 1A.

    I can't find anywhere in the rules that prohibits the mixing of 10A and 15A outlets on the one circuit.

    Disclaimer: I'm not a sparky. I'm not giving wiring advice, just pointing out that it might be possible and a call to a sparky worth a shot.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Chris

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    2,788

    Default

    And this clause implies that a 15A socket doesn't have to be on a dedicated circuit:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Chris

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jack620 View Post
    I thought the same, but the attached table from the wiring rules indicates that you could have 1 x 15A socket-outlet plus 8 x 10A socket outlets on one circuit with 2.5mm cable and a 20A breaker. The 15A outlet contributes 12A to the total load and each 10A GPO contributes 1A.

    I can't find anywhere in the rules that prohibits the mixing of 10A and 15A outlets on the one circuit.

    Disclaimer: I'm not a sparky. I'm not giving wiring advice, just pointing out that it might be possible and a call to a sparky worth a shot.
    I may have shot my mouth of too soon, I'm not a sparky was an apprentice for while some years ago now. I did have a copy of the 2018 AS3000 but can't seem to locate it at the moment. The only one I can find on the shelf is the year 2000 one which is a little irrelevant now.

    I have or had in the back of my head that you could only have 2x 15amp sockets on near a 20 Amp breaker on 2.5mm sq.

    There use to be something about welders being treated as 100 percent load. But as above not sure now and probably should have not said anything.

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    2,788

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craka View Post
    There use to be something about welders being treated as 100 percent load.
    There still is. So I assume, that means only 5 x 10A GPOs on the same circuit fitted with a 20A breaker. Best to consult an expert though (i.e. not me).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Chris

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jack620 View Post
    I thought the same, but the attached table from the wiring rules indicates that you could have 1 x 15A socket-outlet plus 8 x 10A socket outlets on one circuit with 2.5mm cable and a 20A breaker. The 15A outlet contributes 12A to the total load and each 10A GPO contributes 1A.

    I can't find anywhere in the rules that prohibits the mixing of 10A and 15A outlets on the one circuit.

    Disclaimer: I'm not a sparky. I'm not giving wiring advice, just pointing out that it might be possible and a call to a sparky worth a shot.
    A lot of standard house circuits have 16amp breakers. On that table, a 15amp socket counts as 15amps if using a 16amp breaker.

    Whereas on a 20amp breaker, the 15amp socket counts as 12amp.

    Might explain why often 15amp end up on separate circuit.

  14. #44
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    s.w. sydney
    Posts
    38

    Default

    hi, bring it to my place and i can weld it up for you. i have mig tig and stick. i,m at thirlmere, s,w sydney. very experienced welder. message me.
    cheers mick

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. My Chinese lathe finally gave trouble
    By nearnexus in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2013, 03:03 PM
  2. I gave up at this point
    By eskimo in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6th Jan 2011, 11:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •