Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    near Rockhampton
    Posts
    5,946

    Default My welders are breeding.

    It seems my welders are breeding.

    Some weeks ago at an online auction I bid on and won a Miller Thunderbolt 300 amp AC stick welder. It is a welder that is single phase, but is 240V or 415V input. It also came with a heap of welding rods and I have found I like 7014 rods. It will probably get converted to running a lathe, as I can input 240V and tap 415V off it, then use that to run a VFD connected to a lathe.

    Then I go out and buy a portable Unigmig 250MTS for mig welding in the field. It seems really good and probably is the best welder I own going by the arc it runs. It also seems to be highly efficient as turn the stick up to full power and I can burn holes in everything, all from a 15 amp socket, although it says to use a 32 amp.
    Gold, the colour of choice for the discerning person.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,395

    Default

    Hi RC,

    What a problem to have!

    Wrt using your welder as an step up converter (is that what you would call it?)

    I have an old Goodwell AC arc welder which has multiple input taps, 240 & 415 from memory. Are you suggesting it may be possible for me to wire that to get 415 out of a 240v input?

    (Hey Mods time for the massive disclaimer bit!)

    Simon

    Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    408

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    Hi RC,

    What a problem to have!

    Wrt using your welder as an step up converter (is that what you would call it?)

    I have an old Goodwell AC arc welder which has multiple input taps, 240 & 415 from memory. Are you suggesting it may be possible for me to wire that to get 415 out of a 240v input?

    (Hey Mods time for the massive disclaimer bit!)

    Simon

    Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
    If it has seperate windings for the 415 and 240 depending on how itís wound and assembled, yes it might be possible. The two input windings would need to be assembled onto the core in the same fashion as the traditional primary and secondary relationship between input and low voltage secondary are. So assuming they were, you also need to keep in mind the voltage vs current relationship that applies when using a transformer which is in this case as itís a step up, as voltage ones up, available current goes down. Your step ratio is 1.7:1 so if you want 10A at 415V the 240V Side must be capable of delivering 17A plus any losses, which in an iron core transformer will be anywhere up to 30%, so you could comfortably suggest around 23A would be required at the input winding.
    More likely the input winding is a tapped winding in which case no it is not possible.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Geelong, Australia
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    If the inputs are a single tapped winding it will still work. Itís effectively an auto transformer.

    Steve

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    296

    Default

    Know them feels.
    Nothing quite matches new welder day IMO.

    Picked up my new one last week myself. A German 180a multi process pulser by EWM. One of the nicest arcs I've had the pleasure of making to date. Particularly so as a single phase machine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Warburton, Vic
    Posts
    337

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by .RC. View Post

    Then I go out and buy a portable Unigmig 250MTS for mig welding in the field. It seems really good and probably is the best welder I own going by the arc it runs. It also seems to be highly efficient as turn the stick up to full power and I can burn holes in everything, all from a 15 amp socket, although it says to use a 32 amp.
    Iíve got one of these as well, heaps of power and yeah, itíll blow holes everywhere if you not concentrating or turn it up too much
    Cheers

    DJ

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    near Rockhampton
    Posts
    5,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    Hi RC,

    What a problem to have!

    Wrt using your welder as an step up converter (is that what you would call it?)

    I have an old Goodwell AC arc welder which has multiple input taps, 240 & 415 from memory. Are you suggesting it may be possible for me to wire that to get 415 out of a 240v input?

    (Hey Mods time for the massive disclaimer bit!)

    Simon

    Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
    This welder has three input leads, a neutral then one for 240 and another for 415. When it is wired for 415, the cooling fan runs off the 240V wire and neutral. Mine is essentially an auto transformer, not an isolating transformer.
    Gold, the colour of choice for the discerning person.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    408

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OxxAndBert View Post
    If the inputs are a single tapped winding it will still work. Itís effectively an auto transformer.

    Steve
    Valid point, wasnít even thinking about an auto transformer when I was typing this morning.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,395

    Default

    Thanks for the replies.

    So the welding connections don't get used. They basically become a spectator winding?

    Simon

    Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    N.W.Tasmania
    Posts
    1,166

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    Thanks for the replies.

    So the welding connections don't get used. They basically become a spectator winding?

    Simon

    Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
    That's correct Simon, at least on any 240/415 Volt input welder I have seen. The primary winding is effectively an auto transformer, so you get no isolation, but a lot less copper is needed to wind the winding, than would be the case where you had two seperate windings, electrically isolated but magnetically coupled. I have often wondered if they could be used to build a rotary phase converter, but have felt that I would probably need a conventional transformer, that is one with seperate windings for the 240 volt winding and another winding for the 415V. It seems to me that with the Australian system having the neutral leg at ground potential, I would never get that leg to get anywhere near 415v without having an isolation transformer to get my 415 volts. That won't be a problem for Richard however if he uses a VFD to generate the three phases, and since VFDs are so much cheaper now and come with lots of useful features, the attraction of a rotary phase converter is lessened even though it can run multiple machines simultaneously.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    near Rockhampton
    Posts
    5,946

    Default

    Gold, the colour of choice for the discerning person.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mackay North Qld
    Posts
    5,396

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    Hi RC,

    What a problem to have!

    Wrt using your welder as an step up converter (is that what you would call it?)

    I have an old Goodwell AC arc welder which has multiple input taps, 240 & 415 from memory. Are you suggesting it may be possible for me to wire that to get 415 out of a 240v input?

    (Hey Mods time for the massive disclaimer bit!)

    Simon

    Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
    OK ! Here it is,then.


    DISCLAIMER
    No liability is accepted by U-Beaut or the Metalwork Forum's administrators
    or moderators for advice offered by members posting replies
    or asking questions regarding electrical work.
    We strongly advise contacting a Licensed Tradeperson for all electrical work.
    WARNING
    Information supplied within posts is not to be considered as detailed formal instructions to complete a task.
    Members following such information do so at their own risk

Similar Threads

  1. MIG welders - which one to buy
    By MORRIMATE in forum WELDING
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2016, 07:08 PM
  2. Any can welders?
    By AxelVK in forum WELDING
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2013, 07:55 PM
  3. Old vs New Arc Welders
    By newbyangler in forum WELDING
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12th Mar 2011, 04:22 PM
  4. 10 Amp Welders
    By Sawmaster in forum WELDING
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 5th Apr 2010, 04:34 PM
  5. Welders
    By XXXX in forum WELDING
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11th Dec 2007, 07:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •