PDA

View Full Version : imported tool post

tanii51
15th May 2009, 09:55 PM
im looking at getting a qc tool postfor my hercus model c maybe this one (http://cgi.ebay.com/17-PC-QUICK-CHANGE-TOOLPOST-KIT-for-Metal-Lathe-NEW_W0QQitemZ260407342017QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3ca17cb3c1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A5%7C294%3A50#ShippingPayment) from the US.
.. What is the advantage of the chuck+ tool holder shown in the pic over using the tail stock
looks like a knurling tool is included with wheels
including postage is over $100 au less than any i can find in australia is this good value

snowyskiesau
15th May 2009, 10:15 PM
Not sure how useful a chuck would be on a tool post but then I'm just a beginner :)

Check out CDCO Tools (http://www.cdcotools.com). They have a similar QCTP (without the drill chuck) for only $US82. Shipping will be $US42. I can't send a direct link to the item, look under Machine Tool Toolings -> Lathe Tools.
I bout one of these for my 9x20 Chinese lathe a while back. The extra tool holders are pretty good value as well.
The owner, Frank, is good to deal with, He'll make sure that the items you order will fit in a standard USPS shipping package and meets the weight requirements for the standard packages USPS offer (20lbs from memory).
In my last order, he kept telling me that I was under the maximum weight and helpfully offering info on other items that I could purchase to make up the weight.
Send him an email, chances are you'll get a reply tonight.

Big Shed
15th May 2009, 10:20 PM
im looking at getting a qc tool postfor my hercus model c maybe this one (http://cgi.ebay.com/17-PC-QUICK-CHANGE-TOOLPOST-KIT-for-Metal-Lathe-NEW_W0QQitemZ260407342017QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3ca17cb3c1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A5%7C294%3A50#ShippingPayment) from the US.