PDA

View Full Version : trade top help

thesupervisor
13th Nov 2008, 06:44 PM
hello all i sit on the fence most of the time i have just been asked to build a trade top and fit modifty trailer is there any off the shelf sellers or some where i can get shop drawings i am a welder /carpernter by trade so i just need a bit of help thanks in advance
rob

jatt
14th Nov 2008, 10:30 PM
Ring around a few trailer manufacturing joints.

Have priced up tradies tops in Melb & here in bendigo.

Recently enquired about a 6 x 5 top that will fit on my 10 x 5 tandem from a local manufacturer. Has a divider of course to section off the last 4 feet. Asking price, around $1000.

Guess u would have to ask yourself the usual questions, to make or build.

I would have to buy the steel, pay someone to fold & cut the sheets. Factoring in all those expenses before I even fired up the mig, well I would buy the top in.

Yonnee
15th Nov 2008, 10:02 AM
Ring around a few trailer manufacturing joints.
This is what I would suggest too.

Have priced up tradies tops in Melb & here in bendigo.

Recently enquired about a 6 x 5 top that will fit on my 10 x 5 tandem from a local manufacturer. Has a divider of course to section off the last 4 feet. Asking price, around $1000.
That's not all that cheap. My guess is because you were asking for an odd size, any "one-off" size like that will be more expensive than a standard "off the shelf" size.

thesupervisor
15th Nov 2008, 07:57 PM
thanks for the replys so far
i have had a price from papas trailers $1800 for a siple 2400x1500 i told him i only wanted the top not the trailer!!!! i thought there must be someone who can draw up the plans or a web site mabe the chinese make them cheap ?? haha ,the only real problem i can see is the doors they scare me because i want them to look good and not leak

Denim
17th Nov 2008, 08:23 PM