PDA

View Full Version : First Welder

westcoast
14th Jan 2008, 06:55 PM
Hi all,

Thanks very much for the great info that this forum supplies. I've learnt an incredible amount about an incredible amount by just keeping an eye on things on this site. I am a keen renovator - completely self taught, very thorough but very slow. So many times I've thought "if only I could stick these two bits of metal together"...I think its time to buy a welder. I reckon it will be used for repairs, maybe knocking up a gate or two and things in the shed. From what I've read at this stage I will probably get away with one of the cheaper arc welders such as the ozito, gmc or arlec. For the amount of use it will get I think I have settled on one of these. But my question is which one. I note that the amps on the GMC is lower than the other two and my best guess is that the duty cycle is slightly better on the arlec than the Ozito. That said my suspicious mind is telling me that the Arlec and the Ozito are so close in spec that they might be the same welder with different stickers.

For what it's worth my welding experience is almost zero...I did do a TAFE course about 15 years ago but I can't remember too much.

Thanks

Brickie
14th Jan 2008, 07:15 PM
That said my suspicious mind is telling me that the Arlec and the Ozito are so close in spec that they might be the same welder with different stickers.

No way........:oo:

Grahame Collins
15th Jan 2008, 09:09 AM
Hi Westcoast,

You are most likely correct in your assumptions about the Arlec and Ozito welders. My lady works for electrical repairer specializing in industrial tools.

In conversations with the electricians there it was revealed that if a welder of that size is a rebadged unit, it is most likely to be a re badged Telwyn. According to the electricians they are best avoided as "They made millions of them and they are all crap". I have used some of the Telwyns and feel they are best utlised as land fill.