PDA

View Full Version : Advice

Pages : [1] 2

garfield
2nd Nov 2007, 11:07 AM
G'day all,

I've never welded before, but would like to start. I have a small project that I'd like to get started on.

I'm building a camp kitchen and i need to weld/make a rectangular shape base frame using steel tube - say 40mm x 20mm with a 1 - or 1.5mm wall.

I'm thinking of buying a GMC arc welder from Bunnies they're pretty cheap $100 there abouts, and tackling this myself as it's not a hugely important or large job that requires tradesman like welding. I was wondering if anybody else has sort over time self taught them selves to weld?

I'll also be welding a couple of cut down tent poles to use as legs for my camp kitchen.

So bottom line two Questions - 1: is the GMC arc welder ok for what I'd like to do?

2: does anyone see a problem with me trying this without any experience?

thanks
Geoff

DJ’s Timber
2nd Nov 2007, 12:49 PM
Here's a few links to get you started. A few of the members have the GMC welder and from all accounts, seems to be a useful little welder.

Welding light tubing will require a bit a know how, but if you read up on the following links you should be able to do it. You'll need to use 1.6mm tube as a minimum.

http://www.woodworkforums.com/showthread.php?t=19428
http://www.woodworkforums.com/showthread.php?t=51277
http://www.woodworkforums.com/showthread.php?t=44815
http://www.woodworkforums.com/showthread.php?t=43621
http://www.woodworkforums.com/showthread.php?t=34235

BobL
2nd Nov 2007, 04:50 PM
The GMC should be fine (just bear in mind it will not last for ever).

DJ has already given you all the good URLS - Hey these should be in a sticky at the MM (Mr Moderator :D)

Here as bit of a quick and dirty sumamry.

Figure on spendin at least the same on PPE
- elbow length leather gloves
- A decent helmet

If you don't have one you really will need a (cheap is OK) angle grinder to cut, clean and tidy up the tubing. Plus
- a full face clear mask