PDA

View Full Version : Adviced needed on gasless Mig welder

Big Shed
28th Jun 2007, 03:04 PM
OK, need to make a mobile base for my new tabelsaw. Used to have CIG 180 Mig, but gave it to my son together with a instant mask. He now lives in Adelaide so I don't have easy access to it.

So looked at gasless MIGs as I don't want to be lumbered with the extornoinate rent on the gas bottle.

Found 2 so far, a CIG 100 and an Ozito 90. CIG is $490-565 depending where you buy it, Ozito is $290.

My question is, will either of these weld 3mm thick 50x25 or 40x40 steel tube (RHS?)

I'm a chemist and a woodworker, not a welder and or metal worker, in fact I hate metal!

Any advice gratefully received, but bear in mind that I am not going to buy a welder that needs gas. If gasless is useless, by all means tell me so.

Thanks

maxdangerous
28th Jun 2007, 03:14 PM
Personally, I'd go for a little Electronic Caddie. We use one at work that came with all of the accessories to set it up as a TIG as well. Does a really nice job running 2.5mm rods on that size tube, just don't try running too long a bead in one go or you'll blow a nice little whole in your job.
I'm struggling to think of the name of the thing though:doh:

maxdangerous
28th Jun 2007, 03:26 PM
Just asked a mate what his thoughts were (best welder I know) and he said only to go gasless if you like your welds to look like Cocky Sh*t.:o
Rather blunt and to the point I thought:B

DJ’s Timber
28th Jun 2007, 03:34 PM
BS I used to have the older 135 and that was only just adequate to weld 3mm with gas-less wire for short runs only. I reckon the 100 would be a bit underpowered.

I wouldn't touch a Ozita Mig with a barge pole, reckon it would be to hard to source consumables for it.

Another option is you can cut everything up ready to go and either bring it here and use my Gas MIG or I can come to you for the day

Fossil
28th Jun 2007, 03:38 PM
Adviced needed on gasless Mig welder

IMHO....Don't waste your money.