PDA

View Full Version : CIG transmig 150

timbo123
28th Jul 2006, 12:14 PM
Hello
I am new to mig welders - currently have an old 150 amp stick welder that I have on loan from the old man.
I am looking at buying a second hand CIG transmig 150 welder for hobby farm use. They guy wants $650 for it and it is in very good cond ( hasn't used it's first role of wire yet). I assume that these welders only take the small disposable argon bottles - what are they like. I don't really want to hire as I wouldn't really use it much. However I still want something that will well up to at least 4- 5 mm

any comments?

Thansk

Rossluck
28th Jul 2006, 02:14 PM
I have a transmig 200 and they're a good welder. They'll use any sized gas bottle you want to connect to them.

It seems to me, though, that the price is a bit up there. I don't know what they cost new, but if I saw a transmig 150 for sale for $650, I probably wouldn't be attracted to the ad.

On the other hand, I'd put some thought into whether or not you really need a MIG. Those little bottles are useless. The argon doesn't liquify like LPG, it's only compressed, so even the big bottles don't last as long as you'd think. This means that you go through a lot of brain damage worrying about turning the gas off after welding (this has meant a few night-time trips for me out to the shed). And then there's the cost ....

As Grahame Collins (our resident expert) has written here in the past, you'd probably be better off with a good stick welder. The secret to it all is, there are good stick welders and bad ones. The good ones suddenly make stick welding a lot easier and you can weld thinner stuff with them. I have a 300 amp three phase EMF (CIG) stick welder that is the king in my workshop.

I only use the MIG when I want to fill holes or to weld stuff that the stick burns through (at 70 amps). If I want to be sure that what I'm welding is going to hold, then out with the stick welder, ramp it up, and watch the metal melt.