PDA

View Full Version : Help on batch production (Alessi Kettle)

Chaz
19th Jan 2006, 01:51 AM
Hi all,

I am currently studying Industrial Design at university in the UK. In teams of 6 we have been set a small reverse design project based on the Alessi Hob Kettle by Michael Graves. My part in the team is to figure out how to make a small batch of these things (10-50 units).
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v39/npj999/alessikettle.jpgProduced in polished steel.

Whilst I have found loads of info on mass production (much to my team mates delight), I cant find much on small batches. This is where I hope you guys/girls can come in and help me out. As lets face it you can get so much from books, but a far better source of info are the people out there getting their hands dirty.

I am particular interested in:
How the body shape would be created? Some sort of press???
How the base would be attached? Metal folding??? Thanks for any knowledge you may have on this,
Chaz

HODGSON
19th Jan 2006, 02:00 PM
We do this exact project at our university as well!

Are you from Loughborough University by any chance? I'm Mr Hodgson, the Head of Department in Design and Technology there, and i sincerely hope you are not from Lboro University as well. If you are, i would recommend you find the research yourself in future and stop being a plagiarist.
However, if you are not from the LU, please note:

The body shape would be created in batch production by rolling a flat triangular sheet of steel around a wooden press.

The base could be attached by electric-ark welding internally to hide any seem lines.

TassieKiwi
19th Jan 2006, 03:15 PM
Of all the luck! Imagine being from the UK and being busted on this forum by a pointy head in the UK! Cor.

ernknot
19th Jan 2006, 08:01 PM
"seam lines" I hope. Hope you don't design the way you spell??

HODGSON
20th Jan 2006, 12:44 AM
"seam lines" I hope. Hope you don't design the way you spell??