PDA

View Full Version : Best way to slide metal over metal?

aceofspades
9th Jan 2006, 07:57 AM
Hi, bit of a novice here, im designing & building a bike rack for my garage thats also part of my A-level course at college. It will hold 2 bikes, lifting them up from the ground high enough to get the car underneath. I'm going to make the rack telescopic, the top section (which holds the bikes) will move up outside the main 'shaft'. The problem is how to get the two rectangular tubes to move over each other with as little friction as possible, whilst supporting the weight of 2 bikes on one side...

The rack will obviously dig in on one side and theres no way it will slide up and down as it is.
At the moment I'm thinking of cutting slots in the inner tubing and fitting some sort of roller(s) to both sides (probably drilled out nylon rod cut to length). From the measurements I have taken of the stuff in the workshop - the gap between the outer and inner walls will be 2.5mm on each side so I'm planning on fitting 5mm diameter nylon 'rollers' on the inner tube.
Bearing in mind I have the run of the college workshop (including MIG welders/brazing torches, CNC machines etc) - What is the best way of doing this??
I'm trying to make the design as simple as possible, I'm pretty sure I might have to scale the whole thing up a bit! I'm also not sure on how best to fit everything together, It all exists in my head and on paper at the moment so im fully open to any suggestions you might have, any help with this would be much appreciated, Rob

E. maculata
9th Jan 2006, 08:13 AM
Have done similar things on an industrial scale before and have used a variety of plastic & brass compounds in thin strips as simple "sliders" some are even self lubricating.

rodm
9th Jan 2006, 11:46 AM
Keep your design simple and don't get carried away with bearings and rollers. Slides rather than rollers are easier to set up and there is much less chance of failure down the track.

Ashore