PDA

View Full Version : How to upgrade to CNC without learning G-code

Turbine Builder
1st Nov 2021, 05:36 PM
I found this video I am not a CNC expert would like to hear what the people who have a home CNC set up think of this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgMnH-LRCY8

https://www.maharn.com/

elanjacobs
1st Nov 2021, 09:10 PM
Very interesting, I especially like the use of interchangeable head tooling as an easy way to run multiple tools while keeping the Z axis more or less stable. One obvious issue is the lack of "look ahead" on the controller where it reads a certain number of code lines ahead so it moves smoothly instead of pausing after each line or arc while it works out where it's meant to be going next. That's just a software thing though, so I would hope (expect) it to be patched out for a Beta release.

nigelpearson
5th Nov 2021, 04:03 AM
www.Maharn (http://maharn.com).com
I'm guessing this will be a while to market.

0) Not fussed about the tooling aspect. He is saying that the tooling library allows easy swapping/sharing of tool paths to machine a particular object, but I can't see how that would be the case unless you have the exact same tool sizes?
i.e. If you don't have a 3mm ball cutter, or 12mm end-mill with 0.5 nose rad, something somewhere needs to re-process a tool path to that you can approximate it with a 2mm ball, or 10mm end mill with 0.1 nose rad?

1) Love the tablet idea for control, but not the current UI layout.
Undecided about (seemingly) using one app for both design and control.

2) The backlash compensation seems like it leaves a groove where it stops in the middle of the flat of the curve. A little slow and clunky. I'm wondering if continuing the cut while bringing the cutter away from the flat, and then circling back in, would give a neater finish?

3) The only software I know of that does simple backlash compensation, and allows linear scale feedback, is LinuxCNC. I'm guessing that is driving the backend?

elanjacobs