PDA

View Full Version : An axe to grind

sossity
23rd Dec 2019, 06:37 PM
I wasn't sure if I should bother posting this because I know a lot of you think this sort of thing is pointless as it has no purpose. Think of it as an apprentice piece, because I am just learning.

I asked PDW for advice regarding what I'd need to get a fine finish on stainless steel. its quite tricky to get a clear optical finish on stainless steel. I didn't know if a small mill would be good enough but he helped me pick out a kondia powermill which I stripped and rebuilt. Machtool rebuilt the quill because i can't work to the precision he does. He also does his own thing regarding technique, which people all over the world argue with him about. Another guy with mad skills. I think the results speak for themselves, as to how fine a finish a bigger mill can give . I find its so time consuming to polish stainless steel, but the mill gives a finish with marks that i think must be sub micron, going by how easy it is to polish. My chinese 300x 1000 lathe gives a nice looking finish but when you try to polish it, its just not flat the same way the mill finish is. I had to spend loads of time polishing the lathe finish and that makes it really difficult to keep a flat surface flat. If you rely on polishing mops, you won't get a dead flat surface.

This guy https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCworsKCR-Sx6R6-BnIjS2MA/videos is amazing, but he uses smaller hobby machines. I think the finish he gets off is lathe and mill look really poor, but his skill makes up for it when he finishes parts by hand. In this one though, even his skills don't make up for the poor quality machining, and this is just working in brass and aluminium. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3V42KwLTeE its something people argue over quite often, but for me its been worth getting a second hand professional mill.