PDA

View Full Version : MC-60 treadmill speed controller (controller needs a load ?)

DenJon
11th Nov 2019, 07:06 AM
Any help will be greatly appreciated. I have an MC-60 treadmill speed controller. I'm mounting the motor on a drill press. I put switch on the wipe terminal on the pot and added a reverse switch on the motor leads. I have it geared way down so that I can do some thread tapping. I'd like to have it start and stop immediately. I'm trying to eliminate the soft start and stop. Putting a switch from the board (red wire to the motor) gives me what I'm looking for but I am concerned about whether the board needs the load from the motor. Is it safe for the speed controller to run with a switch on the motor lead?

nadroj
11th Nov 2019, 07:26 AM
I'm no expert, but as you asked for "any help", is it possible to use a simpler controller? Such as:
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/60A-PWM-Motor-Speed-Controller-CW-CCW-Reversible-Switch-DC-12V-48V-AU-SHIP/352771058348?hash=item5222cb2aac:g:qhsAAOSwbIZdZ5n8

russ57
11th Nov 2019, 10:36 PM
I'm not exactly sure what you mean by a switch in line with the wiper.
But how about a switch from the wiper to the 'low' side of the pot - that would have the effect of turning the speed down to 0 instantly, without switching high currents.

Ps, what sort of treadmill motor runs on 50 volts - I've only seen 90 or 180, but I guess if you only want relatively low output that wouldn't matter.

Grahame Collins
25th Nov 2019, 11:21 AM
Hi DenJon,
Its good to see another American coming to our MetalWork Forums.

Welcome to one of the better MetalWork Forums. We are Australian based so you might notice on a US Forum references,and retailers and even our standards are sometimes different.I have shifted your post to the Electrical section where it can be answered more appropriately.

Please take a look at the rest of the forum by going to the top LH corner where the FORUM box (with down arrow) is.