PDA

View Full Version : Future Project - Speed Indicator for MIll

bwal74
19th Apr 2019, 11:15 AM
Hi Blokes,

I want to attache a speed indicator to my mill. But I have little experience with electrical work so I'm asking what I need and how to go about it.

I'd probably get my materials for Jay Car.

If anyone has done it and has a build log or knows of a U tube series that would be really helpful.

Regards Ben.

Com_VC
19th Apr 2019, 12:17 PM
Something like this is probably what you are after I think. You can set it up to run from a plug pack type power supply.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-Digital-LED-Tachometer-RPM-Speed-Meter-NPN-Hall-Proximity-Switch-Sensor-AULE/123686264870?epid=24024032314&hash=item1ccc46a026:g:T24AAOSwXaxasfBe

LexD
19th Apr 2019, 08:15 PM
The unit shown by ComVC would be a good choice. I set up something similar on my milling machine as shown in this thread starting at post #134:
http://metalworkforums.com/f65/t159263-mars-lathe-dc-motor-conversion/page-9?highlight=tacho+milling+machine

warrick
20th Apr 2019, 12:13 AM
Then unit shown by ComVC would be a good choice. I set up something similar on my milling machine as shown in this thread starting at post #134:
http://metalworkforums.com/f65/t159263-mars-lathe-dc-motor-conversion/page-9?highlight=tacho+milling+machine

I used almost exactly the same unit as sugested by ComVC on my two wood lathes. One thing I did find with those units was that when i mounted the sensor in a metal bracket it gave irratic readings but as soon as made plastic brackets for them the readings were solid

Rick

simonl
20th Apr 2019, 07:53 AM
Same, I have used similar setups on two machines although I sourced the components individually on ebay rather than as a kit.