PDA

View Full Version : Inexperienced and over their head from Vacy

Tomthesparky
7th Sep 2016, 05:28 PM
G'day,

here to consume the wealth of knowledge available from others more experienced than I. My background is in the electrical industry, however i still have expensive hobbies in cars and motorcycles, which is leading me down the path of expensive hobbies in machinery.
Have just purchased a second lathe, an old purcell record 8" swing. may have rushed in a little as it is missing the Gap (any pattern making and foundry advice welcome), two of the the feed gears are damaged as well once again cast iron. The compound cross slide screw is severely worn as is the nut(no worries can turn one on the existing lathe). Good news is the ways are largely unworn or damaged and the lead screw is in good condition. wish me luck on the project

Tom

morrisman
7th Sep 2016, 07:09 PM
Hi Tom

Good luck finding the missing gap. Your best bet is to find a discarded unwanted Record and scrounge parts from it . Making a pattern and casting is huge $$$$$

I have a geared head New Visby 8 , it appears to be identical to the RECORD model , it has the huge 2.25" bore in the spindle . I bought it on a whim ! The bed is in nice shape . The huge bronze spindle bearings need adjusting , it binds . The headstock inside has pipes running everywhere supplying oil to various points . Very slow of course . It was used in a plastics factory - closed down.

BTW what size motor is on yours ? This one had a old 3HP thing .

Despite the crude, looking rough finish, these are nice practical machines

Tomthesparky
7th Sep 2016, 07:34 PM