PDA

View Full Version : 1955 FJ Holden Sedan Restoration

19brendan81
2nd Sep 2015, 02:26 PM
I have been restoring a 1955 FJ Holden Special for about 18 months now so I have made some progress which I will document in this thread.

I bought the car from my suburb in Canberra quite spontaneously. I have owned two other old holdens prior to this one and was eager for another to do as a project. I found this one locally and got it for 5 grand which was pretty good as it was complete and running (I drove it home) and had already been upgraded to a red motor, HR disc brake front end and a celica 5 speed. These things make an excellent start if you want your car to be a daily driver which I do.

Not long after buying it I realized that since my Dad and brother had completed a similar upgrade to an 1960 FB holden new rules had come into play. These rules are actually guidelines and are known as VSB14 and dictate what modifications can be made to an old car. The ACT government in all its wisdom has decided that under these rules HR front ends cannot be installed in an FJ as it makes the front track (distance between centers of wheels) too wide. This is despite every engineer in the country saying that this is a sensible modification that is vastly safer than the stock narrow drum brake front end that featured on the FJ.

So after months of wrangling and arguing I have given up and recently bought a kingpin front end and grey motor to put in the car. The car will be built that way and hopefully this thread encourages me to do it and a more spritely pace than has occurred over the past 18 months!

19brendan81
2nd Sep 2015, 02:41 PM
The first step of any old holden restoration, particularly the FX and FJ, is rust repair. The sills on these things ALWAYS rust out. I laugh everytime I see an add in a magazine spruiking an 'original, rust free FJ'. Much like unicorns, fairies and father Christmas original rust free FJs are the realm of fantasy and imagination.