PDA

View Full Version : Combination lathe & milling machines?

Chris.s.
10th Jul 2005, 06:01 PM
Hello, I found this forum while searching for information on lathes today, so I thought I would get it straight from the horses mouth. Has anyone had any experience/opinions on the combination lathes/mills that are avaliable for around $1500. I am keen to get into machining at home nothing to heavy. Also are there any short courses provided in the Sydney area for basic machining?

Cheers Chris

HavinaGo
11th Jul 2005, 02:13 PM
Chris,

I'm no expert but the combination machines would be low on my list of priorities. This is mainly due to the lack of a decent sized table for drilling/milling and concerns about rigidity .. does depend on the construction of the combination machine.

Got to say the small lathes, with screw cutting gears for metric and imperial seem a nice compromise (AL-50 at Hare Forbes), so long as I remember theri limits .. lack of back gear is a pest. The medium size machines look promising but I'm put off by the lack of imperial and metric thread cutting so that takes me to the AL-300/330 or 340 which are more likely to be out of budget .. bother! Anyone with experience of these?

... I've not seen a small mill/drill that meets my requirements exactly but the bigger HM-30 looks usable even if a bit big.

Hope that helps

Ashore
11th Jul 2005, 11:46 PM
A lot of ships built in Japan up to the 90's had combi units lathe with a drill , miller and some even ahad a shaper. These gave you all the machines in a single package. Problem they usually only let you use one thing at a time , being the only drill when someone was turning posed a problem
They also had limited speeds and speed changes were not always user friendly espically with imperial thread cutting