PDA

View Full Version : Gas bottle rental

Rutger
19th Apr 2005, 10:50 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to welding and I like doing some work with a MIG machine on occassion. Can someone explain to me why you can only rent gas bottles from BOC & not own your own? For a person like me who would weld on the odd occassion, renting a bottle of Argon mix is not economical. I know you can buy the small disposable bottles, but they don't last long. Why can't I have my own bottle & get it filled, like you do with LPG? It seems like a monopoly.

R

graemet
19th Apr 2005, 11:10 PM
They say that it's safety. Cylinders can get damaged and a cylinder full of compressed gas is as lethal as a bomb, so they won't fill a bottle without testing it. Neither will Liquidaire. Or anyone else. I imported a lightweight aircraft oxygen bottle from the US, fully tested and certified and dated, still no go.
My oxyacetylene bottles only need filling every couple of years so the rental is more than the gas I use.

rodm
19th Apr 2005, 11:16 PM
The only way BOC can control their product is by owning the cylinders. Gases are compressed to quite high pressures and it would not be reasonble for them to accept any old cylinder for refilling.

The problem is that cylinder rental is expensive for home workshops so unless you want to pay rental the disposable cylinders or gasless wire is your only other option. I have been told gasless wire will shortly not be available as the fumes are a health hazard. A BOC sales rep told me this and it is the first time I have heard about it.

Rutger
19th Apr 2005, 11:22 PM
I would imagine the pressure could be reduced to a safe level - same as LPG. Even if you only get 20 - 30 minutes out of it, that would be better than paying rent for a bottle that sits most of the time unused in the shed/garage. And the gas is non-flamable. So I still can't see why you must rent the bottles.

- Thanks for your reply.

Sir Stinkalot
19th Apr 2005, 11:30 PM
What price is the rental?

Rutger