PDA

View Full Version : Whisperings

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Steamwhisperer
20th Nov 2011, 07:58 AM
Hi all
A few people have asked me to show what I do for a living. It certainly isn't your normal day job that's for sure, but it is a facet of engineering that is quickly becoming lost. In essence I suppose you would call it general engineering from around the turn of the century, last century, not this one. I actually get paid to repair/restore antique machines and steam engines that get used as working (not static) displays. A requirement of the job is to also use all the old skills that are quickly becoming lost with the advent of CNC machines. Quite a lot are hand skills, filing chiseling scraping etc.

My workshop
http://img.tapatalk.com/7cb0ccd4-1668-f1c2.jpg
Vanguard lathe with compound slide removed for setting up a job
http://img.tapatalk.com/7cb0ccd4-16d2-2306.jpg
Jones and Shipman pedestal drill. New century model
http://img.tapatalk.com/7cb0ccd4-17a7-3848.jpg
Geo Richards & co. Vertical mill
http://img.tapatalk.com/7cb0ccd4-17f1-885c.jpg
And of course the Buffalo vertical steam engine to power it all
http://img.tapatalk.com/7cb0ccd4-1836-dfd4.jpg
Heaps more if anyone is interested including the forge and anvil plus the power hammer.

Phil

Bryan
20th Nov 2011, 08:23 AM
Phil, are you using a camera or a phone? The pics are too tiny to see anything. I would like more details of all of those machines, especially the mill. I can't tell if it's a weird configuration or there's something behind it. Sorry to whine, but it's not fair to tease us!

Steamwhisperer
20th Nov 2011, 08:39 AM
Hi Bryan
Photos are from the phone
I will repost from the computer...in fact I will do it now

RayG
20th Nov 2011, 09:01 AM
Hi Phil,

Nice one, I'm intrigued. More pictures, then we start with the questions.. :)

I'm sure I'm not the only one who's more than a little envious of your job... any vacancies? :rolleyes:

Regards
Ray

Steamwhisperer
20th Nov 2011, 09:07 AM