PDA

View Full Version : scaled down dog trailer

jatt
2nd May 2010, 09:34 AM
I'm sure we have all seen the dog trailers towed behind a truck, but what about a scaled down version to tow behind my Ford Falcon ute? Electric brakes on all 4 wheels, perhaps a 5th wheeler style turntable on the front axle?

Idea came about after the feasability of towing a 5th wheeler with ute got knocked on the head due to weight restrictions for towing of my ute. (Ford Longreach/Tradesman 1 tonne)

Unless I'm missing something here to tow a 5th wheeler I need to either buy a truck, F150 (or equivalent) ute, or a 4wd ute. This would be my sole vehicle so it has to have a roof rack for work and fit under a low roller door at home, not to mention squeeze into the dreaded underground suburban carparks.

The trailer is no problem, just park it across town at work.

Thoughts.

nihilism
2nd May 2010, 03:36 PM
I'm no expert and i don't know the legalities but just trying to clarify what you're actually trying to achive;

Firstly, you would do away with the need to fit a turntable to the ute, which would be good and a reasonable aim.
Secondly, you would decrease the weight added to the rear axle of the ute.
However, are you realy going to increase the towing capacity of the ute?

soundman
2nd May 2010, 03:53 PM
Regardless of what the trailer configuration... the alowable towing capacity remains the same.

I also have considered the legality of light dog trailers.

Apart from the practicality issues..I cant see whay they would not be legal.

The RNA in brisbale have several flat bed dog trailers they have been towing arround for decades...I know some of them are registered and are towd on the road.

On the way home last week I saw a mowing contractor towing an all ally dog trailer with some sort of SUV..looked expensive....and a bit odd.