PDA

View Full Version : Trailer for long loads.

buildspacetrain
19th Jan 2010, 10:12 PM
Hello everybody. First time user, so here goes! I've been a hobby stick welder for about 20 years,and i tend to over engineer most things so would like a bit of advice for my trailer project. Basically i need a trailer to haul long materials like timber and steel 5 to 6 metres long and up to 1.2 metres wide. An example would be timber rafters, roofing iron and steel angles and RHS. Weight of these materials in one load would not be more than one ton at a time. I'm thinking of a tandem 4.5 by 1.5 metres and a drawbar 1.2 long. This will allow 900mm of load over the drawbar and 600 rear overhang for 6 metre long lengths. Most loads won't hang over the rear. I'm thinking of using 75x50x3 RHS for all the main frame and 100x50x5 RHS for the drawbar. What do you think of that size steel? Could I use 75x75x6 angle for the drawbar? There will be no front or rear walls and only an open side frame to support the mudguards. Floor would be treated timber planks spaced apart so i can tie the load down easily. (Rope over the load and under the floor). One ton axles and Ford bearings. Over-ride brakes (sorry) as i will no doubt find new 'friends' to borrow my trailer! Centre spring hanger is 200mm back from centre of load area. I hope I've done my homework there. I'm not worried about resale value, so I don't really care if the trailer just suits my needs only. I would greatly value your input in setting me straight or any idea's. Cheers.

jatt
19th Jan 2010, 10:42 PM
100x50x5 RHS for the drawbarThats pretty heavy. If it was me I wouldnt bother going over 3 mm wall for your intended purpose.

75x50x3 RHS for all the main frame Given the specs u have provided I wouldnt go over that

Remember its all weight at the end of the day. Before I even think about building anything I look around at what others have done before me.