Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5

    Default Hamatu lathe electrical issue need help

    Hi all

    Im new to the forum and This is my first post and im not sure if this is the right place to ask this question but ill give it ago.
    I have recently brought a 1967 hamatu th-6'(410x800) metal lathe its 3 phase 5 hp motor it looks to be well built dose any one know much about these machines ? the trouble im having is the last owner had pulled it down cleaned and painted it and didnt get around to putting it back together so i put it back together and im having trouble with the wiring the last owner undid a hand full of wires out of the electric unit of the back of the lathe
    And did not mark where they went these wires include (the spindel forward reverse stop. the micro switch that stops the lathe when foot brake is aplyed.the load indicating gauge.two switches and two indacation light unshaw of what these do . So my question is is there anyone out there with the same machine that that could take a picture of there machines wiring or could help me work out what wires go to what terminal that would be a great help and much appreciated there is next to nothing on the net about there machines no wiring digrame not even a workshop manual very frustrating ill try and put pictures up soon

    Regards rick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mackay Qld
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Lupa338
    Welcome to the Metalwork Forum.

    There will be somebody along shortly who may be able to help.
    Meanwhile have a read of the links I will PM to you.
    They will assist you in understanding, our rules. and secondly in moving around the Forum and theres one there about asking questions and getting the best answers back ,though you seem to have made a good job of supplying relevant info which a lot of guys don't.
    Watch for the PM

    Cheers
    Grahame

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5

    Default

    20180110_165824.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mackay Qld
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Hi,
    Past posts -circa 2012 Woodforums indicate GuzziJohn and Nrbr both owned
    Hamutu lathes.

    It may be possible if they still own this model that one of them could take a photo of the connections.
    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rockhampton
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Hi Rick. As Graham stated I do own a Hamatu lathe. It is a later model HAT-20. I have completely rewired mine using a variable frequency drive. It was similar to yours but not exactly the same.
    If no one comes up with a schematic it will be possible to reconnect the wiring with a bit of detective work.
    John

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5

    Default

    hi guzzijohn and graham thanks for tour reply's
    ideally it would be great if someone with the same machine could trace there machines electrical system and help me nut it out that would be the easiest solution but last resort id have to get an electrician to look at it i don,t know enough about electrical systems like whats on the machine.
    guzzijohn how did you go about rewiring your machine what there any think wrong with the standard electrical system or did you just wanted to upgrade the system more to your liking?
    graham how would i contacted nrbr to find out if he had the same machine?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mackay Qld
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lupa338 View Post
    graham how would i contacted nrbr to find out if he had the same machine?
    The username was NRbar-my mistake.-sorry!
    Records indicate he joined and made 1 post in 2014 and not heard of since.All we can deduce is that Nrbar is either no longer visiting the forum or has passed on.

    But just for the know how to-
    At the top of the page - third line down there are a list of titles from left to right
    Activity stream - New posts - Private messages- Faq- Calendar- Community - Forum actions - Quick links

    Theres a pull down menu under Community Click on the down arrow and click on the Members list.
    from that list it is just alpabetic and numbered pages to find the user name.Lots of good info there so a member can be tracked from the last post made,how many posts ,the dates etecetra.

    If going through posts and you see a user name you wish to PM click on it and items from the info above can be selected.

    hope it helps
    Grahame

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rockhampton
    Posts
    160

    Default

    There was no problem with the wiring on my machine I just didn't have 3 phase power available. Since i was installing a VSD to provide the 3 phases for the motor I decided to implement the control in the VSD as well so no contactors or overload unit required and a smoother ramp up. The forward/reverse and brake switch wiring are all now 24 volt.

    Does your lathe have a coolant pump. That might be what the small 3 phase contactor and one of the switches are for.

    Where are you located. There may be an electrically experienced person who can assist you.

    John

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Iv herd of vsd abit lately but dont know much about it ill do some reading and educate my self do you buy it in kit form or do you put it together your self ? Iv been looking into building a phase converter as i only have single phase power at home i have a diesel 3 phase generator to power it if need be but id rather not due to the nosie the thing makes neighbors would like that wouldn't worry me tho . Good news is Iv also got an electrician looking at my machine he's sorting it out 👌 stoked about that .

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rockhampton
    Posts
    160

    Default

    I used a VSD (Variable Speed Drive) to do the single phase to 3 phase conversion. Here are the details.

    Hamatu Lathe on Single Phase

    The conversion I did is quite straight forward although most people who use single to 3 phase VSD's use 240v input drives and reconfigure the motor windings for star connection (Google this for more info). Mines a little different. I left the motor in delta connection.

    If you sort out the original wiring then a phase converter may be the easiest way to get up and running.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with electrical issue ...
    By Vernonv in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23rd Aug 2014, 06:23 PM
  2. Hamatu Lathe on Single Phase
    By GuzziJohn in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2013, 09:24 AM
  3. Hamatu Lathe
    By GSRocket in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Nov 2012, 10:40 AM
  4. Electrical problem with a lathe
    By glock40sw in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 9th Sep 2012, 12:45 PM
  5. Hamatu Lathe
    By GuzziJohn in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 24th Jun 2012, 12:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •