Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Healesville
    Posts
    802

    Default Rangehood circuit board

    Hi all, this circuit board is out of a glem rangehood and the parts are no longer available.
    The only thing that I can see that might be the problem is the transformer PT-6329A, looking underneath the board looks like it has been a bit hot.
    Neither the lights nor the fan work so I am guessing that this transformer powers the other components on the board, I have had a look on the net
    for one of these with no success.

    An easy solution will be to fit another switch and wire it straight to the fan but l would rather avoid this if possible.

    Does anyone know of an alternative transformer that I could buy from somewhere?
    Or have any other ideas what to do?


    cheers shed
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 1.JPG (119.9 KB, 30 views)
    • File Type: jpg 3.JPG (153.1 KB, 32 views)
    • File Type: jpg 2.JPG (168.1 KB, 31 views)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    near Rockhampton
    Posts
    5,350

    Default

    I found this image

    http://radiomehanik.ru/images/produc...ges/1738_1.gif

    Would two buck converters work? Adjust to the required voltage? Although they output DC.
    Light red, the colour of choice for the discerning man.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    sydney
    Age
    58
    Posts
    3,867

    Default

    Buy a new rangehood.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    33
    Posts
    666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by .RC. View Post
    I found this image

    http://radiomehanik.ru/images/produc...ges/1738_1.gif

    Would two buck converters work? Adjust to the required voltage? Although they output DC.
    Not sure that a DC output would pose a problem in this case, if those 4 diodes directly under the transformer in the last pic are doing what I think they are - it looks like they might be doing some rectification, which is then smoothed by the two caps below them?

    Hopefully one of the electronics gurus will be along shortly to confirm or deny that theory...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    1,504

    Default

    Shed,
    I would confirm whether the transformer has failed before trying to source a new one. In my experience they very rarely fail. The heat discolouration looks quite normal to me. It's more likely to be one of the semiconductors (labelled U or Q on the circuit board) or a capacitor.

    Is this a variable speed rangehood? I can't understand why a rangehood needs such a complex control circuit.
    Chris

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bendigo
    Age
    53
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Agree that discoloration looks normal.
    The label on the side indicates 230 - 11 volt, a competent technician would be able to put a multimeter on the circuit and confirm if the transformer is working or if it is a fault somewhere else in the board.
    If you do not have the skills training to work on the equipment I would suggest you engage the services of a technician as it requires working safely with mains voltages.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Age
    52
    Posts
    4,426

    Default

    Have you checked that the switch is actually functioning? I had one on a lamp go toes up the other day. Something about moving parts and voltage means they can fail after a time.

    Michael

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Healesville
    Posts
    802

    Default

    Thanks for the replies and hints fella's,

    I think l will put some juice into it and measure the output voltage from the transformer as Chris and droog suggested.

    Chris I hope you are right about "the semiconductors (labelled U or Q on the circuit board)" they would be easy to replace,
    spoze if I replace them all I might get lucky

    Michael it has 4 momentary switches with a light in them, it has 3 for the 3 speed fan and 1 for the lights that shine on the pots.

    I checked the power to the board before pulling out, juice was going to it but nothing at all worked, not even the little lights in the switch buttons.

    If anyone else has got any clues then spit it out please.

    thanks, shed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bendigo
    Age
    53
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Found reference here:
    https://www.elektroda.pl/rtvforum/topic2659539.html

    From the pictures on that site it appears there is an inbuilt fuse or thermal cutout in that model transformer, it may be housed in the lower skirt around the transformer.
    If you have volts to the primary side and none on the secondary side do a continuity test on the primary. If no continuity check if you can locate the fuse / cutout and check the continuity on that.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Healesville
    Posts
    802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by droog View Post
    Found reference here:
    https://www.elektroda.pl/rtvforum/topic2659539.html

    From the pictures on that site it appears there is an inbuilt fuse or thermal cutout in that model transformer, it may be housed in the lower skirt around the transformer.
    If you have volts to the primary side and none on the secondary side do a continuity test on the primary. If no continuity check if you can locate the fuse / cutout and check the continuity on that.
    Your a champion droog, if l have no low voltage l will check that out

    cheers, shed

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Healesville
    Posts
    802

    Default Not a bad days wages

    droog gets the elephant stamp, yay droog

    the picies tell the story, l went and got another part from the local Jaycay shop, the problem was a 115 deg x 2 amp thermo fuse and as you can see it
    was very sneakily hidden behind the blue tape, the closest part that Jaycar had was a 133 degrees x 10 amp, the bloke in there reckoned that the fuse
    works by heat and not by the amps drawn through it so l banged it in there.
    Soldering that hair was a challenge for this shaky old welders dog.....l have put the board back where it came from so now l just need my young bloke
    to get back up in the roof and switch it back on.

    Thanks fella's, shed
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bendigo
    Age
    53
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Job well done.
    Past experience tells me these are a common problem.

Similar Threads

  1. Mini Mill Circuit Board
    By KBs PensNmore in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 25th Jul 2015, 10:46 PM
  2. In need of electronics/circuit board knowledge
    By brendanh in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 24th Jun 2015, 08:27 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5th Nov 2013, 12:44 PM
  4. Circuit Breaker- How Many Amp's?
    By DirtPig in forum WELDING
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2011, 12:32 AM
  5. requirements for a 15a circuit
    By 19brendan81 in forum WELDING
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2009, 11:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •