Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    627

    Default BS5S bandsaw - changing belt pulley?

    I recently purchased a Hafco BS5S bandsaw. The saw looks excellent, the manual not so excellent. What is the technique for changing the belt to the motors smallest cog? Seems too tight for me to slip it over. It seems strange that the motor just hangs over the back of the saw without being tightened down.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Dee Why NSW
    Posts
    156

    Default

    I haven't seen your particular bandsaw but some machinery uses the weight of the motor to apply tension to the belt. To move the belt to the other pulley just lift the motor and slip it over.

    Edit: just had a look on H&F site. Probably doesn't apply to your saw. You may have to unbolt (loosen)the motor from whatever it is attached to for adjustment.
    Built: a Bench,a Desk,an Archery Display,

    Those were the droids I was looking for.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mallacoota,VIC,Australia
    Age
    47
    Posts
    688

    Default

    HI, I just had a look at the Rubbish Online Manual http://images.machineryhouse.com.au/...20Parts%20List for Your Saw on the Machinery House Website. It looks like the same setup as what was on the Mcmillan version of the BS4 that I had Years ago. If You look on Pages 5 & 6 of the Manual, You need to loosen Part No. 42 and then back off No. 46. This should allow You to Change Your Belt to the other Pulleys. Obviously then the Belt will need Re-Tensioning. You might want to get rid of the Chinese Belt that came with the Saw (looks like A22 in the Manual) and replace it with a Belt such as Brand 'Goodyear'. I say that, because the Chinese Belt is probably shorter than an actual A22 Belt. The BS5 Manual is actually a better Manual than the BS5S one B009 | BS-5 Metal Cutting Band Saw | machineryhouse.com.au .
    All The Best steran50 Stewart

    The shortest way to do many things is to do only one thing at once.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    627

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steran50 View Post
    HI, I just had a look at the Rubbish Online Manual http://images.machineryhouse.com.au/...20Parts%20List for Your Saw on the Machinery House Website. It looks like the same setup as what was on the Mcmillan version of the BS4 that I had Years ago. If You look on Pages 5 & 6 of the Manual, You need to loosen Part No. 42 and then back off No. 46. This should allow You to Change Your Belt to the other Pulleys. Obviously then the Belt will need Re-Tensioning. You might want to get rid of the Chinese Belt that came with the Saw (looks like A22 in the Manual) and replace it with a Belt such as Brand 'Goodyear'. I say that, because the Chinese Belt is probably shorter than an actual A22 Belt. The BS5 Manual is actually a better Manual than the BS5S one B009 | BS-5 Metal Cutting Band Saw | machineryhouse.com.au .
    Thanks steran50 this is super helpful.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    qld
    Posts
    47

    Default Bs5s

    There is an allen head screw at the front of the motor mount, unscrew it until the V belts are loose and will slip over the pulley then tension again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    boston
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Who is the manufacturer of BS5S band saw ?

Similar Threads

  1. Small Flat Belt Pulley re Bobs enquiry
    By Abratool in forum METALWORK GENERAL
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10th May 2012, 06:46 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •