PDA

View Full Version : Hercus 3 phase lathe, single phase supply

Pete F
21st Jul 2008, 10:47 PM
G'day Guys, I FINALLY got my lathe, an ex high school Hercus. I don't have 3 phase to my property, and after investigation found it too expensive to consider. So with the lathe I could either put a single phase motor on it or I believe I can get a VFD off ebay and use that.

I have plenty of experience with electrons but absolutely zero with VFD. Is there any tips or advice available on using a VFD as a single to 3 phase converter on a lathe like this? I'm also wondering about the ability to reverse the lathe as it's imperial and any thread cutting I'd do would be metric.

Thanks,
Pete

Woodlee
21st Jul 2008, 11:36 PM
I am in the same situation at my place ,as far as 3 phase goes. I have been looking at a rotary 3 phase converter. It would be better to keep the lathe 3 phase from what I under stand they are smoother running with less vibration than a single phase ,some thing to do with phase balance or some thing.
I don't think a VFD is is the right device.
I have done some reading online regarding rotary phase converters and they are also commercially available .Not being a sparky ,I haven't really fully understood the concept.
I'm not into electrickety so I might be spouting BS here
What I have gathered is you feed 240 volt power into the 3 phase motor and use a single phase motor to get it spinning and the 3 phase motor out puts 3 phase.

There are discussions and instructions online to build them and how they work , some wiring diagrams as well.
Some one on this forum has also built one if I recall correctly .
Just do a Google for phase converter.

Kev.

pipeclay
22nd Jul 2008, 09:05 AM
Not knowing the cost of phase convertors or VFD's why not just go with the single phase motor and reverseing drum switch.

In regards to the mention of vibration of 3 phase / single phase wouldn't have a clue either.