PDA

View Full Version : Unintentional submerged arc

phelum
17th Mar 2008, 07:01 PM
Sometimes (especially today) my stick welding goes bad because the slag catches up and I am just firing metal into the slag puddle and can't see what is happening. Generally the weld is bad and even if it looks okay there is probably a big slag valley under the surface.

I find that some brands of rods are more prone to this but since I'm only an apprentice newbie it is pretty poor form to blame the rods. So I should be able to recover but I'm not sure how.

Is it worth reducing the rod angle to try and blow the slag back ? Or should I stop, chip the slag, and then continue ? Or (hopefully) is there a better approach ?

Thanks,

Wood Butcher
17th Mar 2008, 07:02 PM
The rod angle should be about 70deg regardless. Try turning up the amps a bit more and also you might be moving a bit too slow.

phelum
17th Mar 2008, 07:16 PM
The rod angle should be about 70deg regardless. Try turning up the amps a bit more and also you might be moving a bit too slow.
Thanks for the instant reply; what great service ! I couldn't go faster today because the weld metal wouldn't bridge the gap (these were V-fillet welds). If the slag catch-up happened to you would you stop and chip the weld before continuing ?

Claw Hama
17th Mar 2008, 08:38 PM
phelum, tell me more. What thickness steel, what size rods, how many amps are you set on? I have used many different brands of rods over the years, some ok, some pure crap but if I want a good clean easy weld I still go back to CIG rods. I would generally work with my welding rod at about 45 deg, roll from one piece of steel with your rod at a nice steady pace, go onto each piece of steel by about the rod thickness. Try not to have too big a gap between your pieces of steel as this can tend to collect slag. you want just enough amps so your welding rod dosen't stick.