PDA

View Full Version : Which 240V Mig Welder to Buy?

Ticky
20th Jan 2008, 12:12 AM
Ok, I know I am opening a can of worms here, but here we go.

Which 240v Mig WElder should I buy?

I am not new to welding, in fact, I am a welder by trade, (Retired Hurt) but I have NEVER used a single phase welder. I have read through a few threads tonight, & I am still none the wiser.

The machine is not likely be required for anything over about 4mm, & I have a very good stick welder if I do, but more likely the thinner end of the scale, 1 - 2mm, you know, the stuff that is a PITA to weld with a stick.

I am thinking perhaps around 160 - 200 amps, & I am after some brand names to look into & if you know any I should avoid, don't be shy.

Grahame Collins, Your input would also be appreciated. I seem to remember trading a few posts some time ago with you.

I would also like to say that money is no object! ... but it is, & I don't have a great deal of it, so lets not go silly here, ok?

Thnak you, I look forward to hearing you views.

Steve

Ticky
20th Jan 2008, 12:45 AM
Does anybody know anything about the:

MIGSTAR 250 AMP MIG WELDER
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/NEW-INDUSTRIAL-GRADE-MIGSTAR-250-AMP-MIG-WELDER_W0QQitemZ250207406656QQihZ015QQcategoryZ3247QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotohosting

Thanks

Steve

AV Elec
20th Jan 2008, 12:54 AM
Toolex for a cheapy, cigweld for medium quality, and Lincoln for great quality.

Grahame Collins
20th Jan 2008, 07:04 AM
Which 240v Mig WElder should I buy?

Hi Steve

I reckon you could not go past this one.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BOC-170P-Portable-240-Volt-Mig-Welder_W0QQitemZ200192576255QQcmdZViewItem

as its actually a Kemppi with a different coat of paint.
If not that perhaps a Transmig 200 with a bit more grunt.

http://www.allwelding.com.au/Product/1151058353675-8228/category/4/2/

The Migstar calls itself an inverter welder yet weighs 75KGS ?????.
Does not mention parts back up.