PDA

View Full Version : Good Buy on Binzel Mig Torches

hux
16th Jan 2008, 10:26 PM
Folks

Went into my local Tradetools (www.tradetools.com.au) and they had a stack (literally) of genuine Binzel mig torches. Only two size MB15 and MB25AK. The 25 was $118....which is quite cheap in comparison to other prices I have seen around the place.

Ohhh 4m lead length standard euro connector.

Replaced my old gun and the welder goes like a new one.

I'm not sure if Tradetools is queensland only but they do mail order.

Grahame Collins
16th Jan 2008, 11:38 PM
Gday Craig,
An exceedingly good purchase.

Bargain of the year I reckon. I have just checked. The same torch goes for over $200 at bobthewelder site on the net.

Grahame

Com_VC
20th Jan 2008, 04:36 PM
while on topic are the copy guns any good or should they be avoided?

hux
20th Jan 2008, 05:16 PM

Why would you bother? I am no expert but have been told that a decent quality gun will make a difference in your welds (not sure how, maybe the liner feeds better, the contacts are better?). I have only every had the two guns, both name brands. I do know the new Binzel works much better than my old Par was - the welds are better for starters, and the welder seems more controllable to amps and voltage changes.

I bet the real welders like Grahame will have never used a cheap gun either - in fact my cheap Binzel is probably not even in the same grade as the stuff on the high end welders.

Grahame Collins
20th Jan 2008, 06:11 PM

Com_VC
There is a yes and no answer to this one. It depends on who is making the copy guns.
Chinese made guns that come with the machines are not that good.It gets back to to the quality of components and good design and manufacture.

Having said that one can go to the welding supply shops and buy generic model replacement welding torches and consumables.
I was given a SIP basic model Mig machine -one of the one s that was designed as a flux core welder. It had no cover door and the torch was damaged.